You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New people: Why is my post payout changing? Why is it cut in half?

in #steemit7 years ago

Omg finally thank man! And you explained it in plain words so a newbee like me can understand whats going on. Today was the end of my first week here on steemit and I've made around 100$, and when rewards kept coming in, I saw that I am not getting all of the money and that other people are sharing my rewards as curators. I am still confused about the power of my vote and why should I chose carefully who I upvote and why it matters. Also I saw that its not good to post more then 4 post a day, that somehow decreases your reputation. I am still learning about the system, but yeah I totally believe in Steemit and will power up as much as I can in the future, I just need to purchase new sneakers at the moment, and see that this money is real :D

Sort:  

More than 4 posts per day shouldn't impact your reputation at all. We used to have it so there was a penalty on your earnings if you did more than 4 (you could do 6 in 24 hours if you planned it right) posts per day. As far as I know they removed that restriction.

The main thing people don't want is to fell spammed. So only if you are blasting out tons of quick posts and someone decides you are more spam than quality might it impact you. Yet the system itself will not penalize you for that.

I saw that in a video from 2016, so I figured. Can you explain why I should cleverly choose my upvotes, and nobody mentions resteeming.

Some people fixate on making money from how they curate and vote. I personally think this is a bad idea and it also doesn't really work too well unless you have a lot of steem power.

I believe a lot of the trending being so often the same things over and over again is sometimes people piling on "popular" posts hoping to improve their curation rewards.

If you have a lot of power then curation rewards do matter some.

Otherwise you'll make more just finding things to write and share about that you are truly interested and knowledgeable about.

As to your vote. I can tell you what I do. As far as posts. I vote on things that I either want to see more of, they engaged my mind in some way, or I can see a lot of effort went into it.

So vote on the things you want to encourage and see more of. That seems more important to me than trying to maximize your tiny curation rewards.

As to resteeming. When it was implemented I personally made a statement that I was going to try to treat resteems like posts. I did this not because I have to, but so I wouldn't spam my followers.

So I try to shoot for 4 or less per day, though I am okay going up to 6. I've maybe done 7 once or twice in a year of being here. This is my personal system.

You will need to find what works for you. :)

Thanks for the detailed reply. I am not governed by money here, I'll resteem posts that I find useful to others, upvote what I like and post about what I find interesting, I just want to know all the mechanics to maximize my reputation. So thanks for clarifying a lot of things :)

Yeah the only thing that actually impacts reputation here is up votes and down votes... and those ONLY impact you if they come from someone with a higher reputation than you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48