SPIRIT OF CHRISTMAS FUNDRAISING MUSIC VIDEO CONTEST-Pay it Forward Steemit Style!!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Fundraiser inspired by @merej99 Theme inspired by @rossenpavlov Community Outreach inspired by @papa-pepper

Tis the season of generosity

Lately I've been seeing a number of posts regarding people on steemit facing extremely difficult times.

Recently @klye was in dire straits and the community pulled through for him, go steemit! He brought more people in need to our attention: Fundraising Success

as has merej99: Barnraising

In order to help I've decided to host a simple contest, an idea that was brought on by @rossenpavlov's request for music yesterday: link

And the rules are as follows:

Paste the link for a song that has affected your life or inspired you in a profound way with a brief (or not so brief if you prefer) explanation of the circumstance in the comment section of this post.
For example you could simply say "It was my father's favorite" or you could tell us a story.

The winner (comment with the most votes) will receive ten percent of the post earnings, the rest will be distributed to steemians in need (which I will determine with the help of @merej99)

Fundraiser ends Monday at noon.

Sort:  

I'll get the ball rolling. Some of you may have seen this already, but since it still makes me tear up it seemed appropriate. My brother had just learned that a dear friend had lost her lifelong battle with cystic fibrosis. Missy was a true light in this world. Knowing her time here was limited she was full of life and joy. She often asked my brother to sing her James Taylor, so he does it here one last time:

Awe so sweet and sad ... it definitely is a tear jerker ,I loved it and thank your brother for playing it one more time ! Steem on ! 🎸🎼🎸🎵🎸

Oh man.... I know if I listen to it I'll start crying. I'll watch it. Just not right now.
I'm so sorry to hear about the loss of your friend.

It is a tearjerker. Thank you, it was last year. She made it to her early 30's, wasn't expected to get past her mid-twenties so she actually felt lucky. Puts things in perspective. My brother since wrote an original song for her, I have the audio but not a video.

This song reminds me of a great friend who passed away a couple of years ago. She's one of the special ones who have influenced everyone around her, especially when it comes to spirituality.

Thank you @immarojas, I love this song!

She kept playing it so now i do too ;)

Music is a great way to keep people alive in our hearts!

It is, isn't it. It's just the presence's missing.

Excellent idea my good friend @ dreemit congratulations
When I was 14 years old I left my home, I went to live in Buenos Aires, when one is away from his land, a lot of his customs.
This topic speaks of a child who leaves his payment, and his old abula dedicates a few words, says that he does not have to forget his principles, which is the only important thing that he carries in his luggage, all Corrientes that has left his payment, inevitably he spends this song.
Much success in your contest

I appreciate your valuable time in visiting and commenting on my post. thank you very much

Wonderful! Thank you for this great story and video my kindhearted friend @jlufer :)

Great idea dreemit.. The first couple entries were powerful ones. Can't compete with those, but.. I figured I'd share one anyways.

I'd have to say this song "Deep Souls" my friend Bonnie did of some poetry that I wrote is prolly the one that hits me the hardest. It kind of encapsulates what I want to say to the world, and she did an amazing job putting her voice and spirit into it and giving it more life.

This song was for a short film documentary that I created titled "Are You Out There?" which was my attempt to get more important information out into the world.. And while I'm not a bigshot getting tons of views like some people are.. I'm happy to see that that movie is close to 1000 views now.. So this song is kind of like.. A representation of my efforts to follow my dreams and share artwork and information with the world. :)
Plus.. I kinda just think it's a good song in general, the lyrics are good, it sounds good.. So, I'm happy to have an opportunity to share it. :) Thanks for your efforts in regards to all this dreemit!

These were powerful lyrics by @apolymask. This song also effected me quite a bit, the creation of this song from the poem hit me in the line all behold such deep souls... I decided to run with that as the chorus and it came out beautifully. Apolymask has a great way with imagery and putting a feeling visually with the music, as this was for his documentary film project on opening your mind, and freedom, I think the song really brought that through deeply. Support!!! great idea here as well by @dreemit. ups ups ups

Wow, that's a powerful song! You are both very talented, at some point I'll have to check out the documentary :) Thanks for contributing here, appreciate it!

Thanks for the kind words. :) I would highly suggest checking it out some day if you have the time, I've had people tell me some amazing things like how they changed their lives afterwards or cried during it, I'm pretty humble, but I do think it's an important film.. Anyways.. You're welcome! I'm glad to contribute.

I have to share the same one I shared for the 90s favorites song , Steem giveaway ! By @rossenpavlov !
Whitney Houston " I Will Always Love You !" Just reminds me of my mom and dad , especially at this time of year , who have since passed away ... like Whitney Houston... may they forever rest in peace ... 🎸🌹🎼💐🎵🌺🎶🎸

Aw, very sweet! Thank you!

Sweet and mushy ! Thats how i seem to roll these days at Christmas time! Thanks ! 👍😊🎄🎶🎼🎸🌹💐🍵🎶

Hey great idea and thanks for your initiative. Steemit is a great place to share.
Every time I feel bad I listen to this.

Lovely :) Thanks for contributing!

That is quite different ! Very melodic ! Thanks for shareing ! 🎸🎶🎼

I love this Norwegian rhythm and melody. Electronica is not some thing I think of but what I love about Steemit is that it opens me up to new ideas, sounds, and sights! Thank you.

Such a nice idea! I upvoted some of the music/stories...but there is a general bad/cry feeling here. That's why I remember to share this Sigur Ros theme, I did​n't knew (til today) what the lyrics were about, but it always made me feel hopeful. It always had a positive effect on me, and this initiative is great!!

This is part of the lyrics:
"Og ég fæ blóðnasir
En ég stend alltaf upp
(Hopelandish)

that means

"And I get a nosebleed
But I always stand up
(Hopelandish)"

Always stand up!!
Reestemed!

parabéns amei sua postagem.

Great! I was thinking that we could use an encouraging video thrown in ;) Thanks!

You're welcomed :)

Here is another song that brings me to tears...to the point that I have never been able to perform it without my voice breaking. I always think of my dad's struggle with cancer and how much of a hole there is since his death. So, when I sing (just about anything but this song) I send him a song. <3

I don't think I knew that you performed, I'm going to have to look back on your blog now :) Aw, I'm sorry for your loss. My own father has been through some serious rough patches the past few years. The last time was in the summer, it was a close one, and it was my brother who once again had me bawling-dad hadn't woken up and they weren't sure if he'd pull through, and my bro was holding his hand telling him he could not leave before seeing his new grand-baby, my brother's first (Nora was born just a few days ago, so beautiful, there's a pic in the comment section of the last song of his I posted) later dad said that he heard him. He's still here, though it sometimes feels like borrowed time.
I listened to your song while I wrote that, beautiful :)

Well this idea didn't bring in much unfortunately, I'm going to transfer the four cents to you and you can add it to one of your fundraisers-I suppose I have to wait until Monday as that's the time I listed. Unless I can think of a way to revamp this, maybe make a post to link to it? I'll think about it :)

Hey, I'm just back from my new PT job which is why I didn't respond earlier. CONTESTS ARE HARD! Really. I've hosted quite a few and with very little reception - not because people don't want to play -- but they lose focus or rarely return for an older post....or whatever the reason may be. It took openmic challenge WEEKS before he started getting steady participants.
I know it's discouraging but it happens a lot. I would love to use the STEEM for the payitfoward initiative BUT I would also love to see you power up!

Aw, you are such a darling! Don't worry, I'm not discouraged :) I can see how getting openmic up and going was difficult, the music community is still very small, I think I'm friends with all of them haha! luzcypher had no choice but to follow me, I've been promoting everything he does LOL I want my brother to step smoothly into the scene when he gets here :) You'll love him! He's the sweetest.

I LOVE THIS SO MUCH! Resteeming and sharing on Twitter. Now I have to go dig for a song. :D

Thank you! And awesome, can't wait to see it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67