My First Impressions of steemit: Upvote! Followed! WOW what a week!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

It’s about an hour after the completion of my first week on steemit and a still, small voice…LIAR…okay, okay, it was the not so small (and never still) voice of my husband… 

 

 (…whom I love and adore, and wouldn’t have any other way), who suggested I write down my impressions.  

The first day was a learning experience. I didn’t even know how to post a picture, let alone comprehend what anything in my wallet meant, and I spent a great deal of time fumbling through searches, looking a lot like   

By day two I had figured out the picture thing, had some idea of what was going on with the wallet, and began to feel an undercurrent of fascination about this interesting and diverse community.  This feeling grew as I began reading post after post and by the time I'd finished a blog by @therealpaul, fascination had morphed to

On day three I hit my stride, upvoting like a pro (okay, like an amateur, but I felt like a pro) posting comments all over the place, and finally feeling I was getting the hang of things. I had yet to make any actual money, but I told myself it was just the beginning, and besides I wasn’t really here for the money, I was here to finally start putting my words out into the world. And then it happened   

I had posted my second episode in the Playground Series and did I say I didn’t care about the money? Because     

There is something truly AWESOME about being recognized for your vision and creativity. It’s not the money so much, it’s the idea that your words have made an impact. That people care enough about them to reward you for it.  I am thrilled to say that one week in I am a steemit enthusiast! So much so that my primary concern in my wallet is how much steempower I have and I’ve begun recruiting among family and friends. 

One more time Hyde

I believe in this platform, the blockchain, I believe in the intelligent people of this community, I welcome the hard fork, and I am just getting started! So thank you steemians for being awesome, looking forward to making all kinds of new connections and friends! Much love to you all!     

P.S. I just realized this is also my 100th post--sweet synchronicity 

Images courtesy of giphy.com

Sort:  

It is right impresion. I will follow you. And I resteemed this post.

Thank you!! I will follow you too and we will steem on together!

It is fun impression! :)

Thank you, it's a fun place!

Hey thanks! What a compliment-- I'm glad you are here, and I appreciate your encouragement in comments on my posts.
You deserve the recognition, I enjoy all of your posts here, great start!

Well, if I would have seen this first, I might not have embarrassed myself. I'm glad I am not freaking you out, haha. i'm not sure if I told you that I love your name too. It has the potential to make people draw a number of great conclusions ;)

Not freaked out at all-- "I've got one that can see!"
Yea I like thinking of all the interpretations that that name might evoke, from beatles to the bible and beyond the 'real' news

Ha, exactly! It also reminds me of Ijustam from my story, a name I toyed with using for steemit.

The first day was a learning experience. I didn’t even know how to post a picture

I can't believe we still don't have an easy option to upload pictures right from steemit without the need to go first to a hosting pic site...

Ah but, I have faith it will come ;) My glasses might be a bit rose-colored right now...

Taken me a while to get here but I did. Great first impressions - well done and keep steeming that positive energy all over the place. And I love your name as it fits my mantra Breathe Your Dreams. Will be following you for sure.

Hi there! Thank you! I definitely will, and I love your mantra :) This platform is what all other forms of social media promised but failed to be. Every page is like visiting somewhere new, and the people are enthusiastic, warm, and engaging! Coming over to 'your place' now!!

Aw thats a real awesome post man! Its as relevant today as it was back then!

I remember that heady feeling. Poking about in peoples wallets. Trying to insert images. And then bang. The big post. Ah glory days! Glad you have stuck with it all lass :O)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60526.03
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54