Here's the problem we may face, with Steem sites

in #steemit6 years ago

Not another Steem Post about Steem!

 
Something I've noticed lately, and something that may be a problem facing steem, and Steemit and Busy down the road, is that we are all a little too obsessed with talking about steem and Steemit. Legitimately, it seems that that's 90% of the posts on here. I don't think it's just who I follow either, as I tend to mainly follow gaming and gamedev blogs.
 
But if you look at who I'm actually following, there isn't many people on that list. That's because when looking for gaming or gamedev stuff on Busy, it's very dead! Even the blogs that I follow that are gamedev are still sometimes either focused on steem or repost a lot about steem.
 

So what's the problem here?

 
Well, I can answer that. When looking back at my days on Vidme, there were a lot of videos solely focused on talking about how cool Vidme was. When the hype train about Vidme died, and I found that I couldn't gain an audience there to save my life, I moved back to Youtube. Luckily the audience thing isn't an issue here, but we all still do seem a bit too focused on steem itself and not the content we can bring to these sites.
 

The hell should I do about it?

We seem to be too focused on the finances, and the hyping of the sites themselves, and that's what I'm asking you guys to actively try to change. My call to action for you steemians is to bring worthwhile content to the steemconnect sites that isn't just about steem, or share steemconnect websites with your friends and family, and tell them why it's awesome. They shouldn't need anymore than an initial hyping! Let's get people that are practiced and talented involved with steem (especially gave devs and gamers), and then we can talk about how cool it is!

PS: Also, please god, let's get a better search and tags system so we can find stuff, and post videos without just using #gaming because that's super non-specific. haha

Sort:  

I agree, and I see this a lot in anything cryptocurrency-related. Any implementation of blockchain tech with a community tends to focus heavily on the app itself or crypto in general. This makes complete sense given we are at the very early stages of these apps so it's a shared interest amongst users, but could be detrimental to appealing to a broader audience who may have no interest in anything crypto. Somebody may just want to share their passion of X with other people but if they only see a handful of posts about X and the vast majority of other posts are all about something they don't care about they probably won't make the effort to even join the community.

As for me I think crypto is pretty cool but I care about game development more so that's what I'll be focusing on here. Hopefully I can help "bridge the gap" between crypto/steem discussion and just straight up gamedev discussion.

Yea, to be honest I was just talking about how I posted this and then I see a new game dev. haha

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LittleCoffeeKitty(ブランデイ) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49