The Imaginary Precious Paella Place And The SBD Drama

in #steemit6 years ago

paella-2450391_1280.png

image source(s): Pixabay.


Let’s make an exercise of imagination.

Suppose somebody finds an empty place somewhere in this world and, by lack of a better name, decides to call that place Precious Paella Place. Let’s think of that place like some sort of a country (I was about to call it an “ecosystem” but then I realized it might be too complicated).

So, in this country, you can obviously get a job, and, as a result for your contribution, you can also get paid. Let’s say you can get paid in two items: in paellas (obviously) and in empanadas. The main currency is paellas, obviously, but the founders of that country decided to also offer empanadas, only in a very limited supply.

You could always exchange your empanadas for paellas, if you wanted, or you could just sell your empanadas directly. The whole idea with those empanadas was to have some sort of a “stable” way to get paellas. Because, you see, the paella price wasn’t controlled by the country rulers, only the empanada price. And “controlled” is a bit of strong word. The rulers couldn’t really do much to control the price, other than throwing more empanadas on the market, if their price was too high.

After all, they were both made of flour.

All is good for a few years, until somebody finds a way to sell the empanadas in other countries, for a lot more money. Much more than you would get by selling it in the PPP (I will use the abbreviation from now on, it’s easier).

So now, that many people learned that you could get a lot of empanadas by contributing to this strange country, and that the empanadas are quite expensive in other parts of the world, we’re all witnessing a massive influx of immigrants. They’re all after those precious empanadas (although it’s written very clear in the country’s constitution that the main currency is paella, not empanada).

For a while, everything was great. People were making a lot of empanadas and huge profits were made by selling those empanadas overseas. Good times.

Of course, none of the “empanaderos” were aware that the main currency of the place was still paella. As time went by, they didn’t even bother to ask. They took everything for granted, flocking in like sheeps led by a few smarter dogs. All they wanted was that precious “empanada”.

Alas, all good things come to an end, and, eventually, that happened to the “empanada fever” as well.

See, while the immigrants were blindly following quick profits, the country rulers were making more and more empanadas. Because there were now far more empanadas on the market, their price went back to where the rulers wanted it to be.

And here comes the drama.

All the people who blindly followed empanadas, started to complain about its price. Oh my, oh my, the empanada price is flooring, we are so doomed, we are so rekt, we are so played by these rulers.

Did they go back to look at the rules of the country? Very few of them. The vast majority just took for granted the fact that there will always be precious empanadas to be made, although the place was clearly called PPP (Precious Paella Place).

Who’s fault it is? The country rulers’ fault? Why? Weren’t they very clear from the beginning that the main reward was always the paella? And that the empanada was just a helper currency?

By now you should have realized that the “paella” is the STEEM and the “empanadas” is the SBD.

If you didn’t, please start reading this post again.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

People just love drama and complaining and the whole SBD thing is just another reason to complain :)
In my humble opinion I think SBD is more valuable from a speculative stand point because if it gets pumped to something like 3 or 4 times the price of steem then you can get a whole lot of steem for just waiting for the right moment :)

SBD has more value because it is the currency which is used for every activity on steemit

And you can back this statement with arguments, I presume. Both from the white paper and from the actual transactions happening on the blockchain, right?

I thought STEEM is the currency used for every activity on steemit and SBD is only used for post payouts and is supposed to be a stable currency.

Precisely. I was being ironic.

I loved the story @dragosroua...
Although I am curious what happened to all the empanadas seekers...
Did they left the country???
Or
Did they learnt their lesson???

Some left, some learned. As always, in life...

Cheers ....Hope you are enjoying the festival:)

I am, actually, it's really great, thank you :)

I consider myself one of the immigrants. I think I'm staying. So long as I see the rules clearly, I know I'll be fine

Wow good example now i undesand. but it was funny reading about paella and empanadas i love both lol ... I am hungry for empanadas the real ones :D...

I am hungry for empanadas the real ones :D...

me too :)

Whoa... can I eat SBDs? And what kind of beer would go well with it?

I would suggest a Bitcoin-based beer...

The fact that you named the currencies paella and empanadas made the reading so funny :))

It was pretty easy to have empanadas pumped because it had such a low volume. Now it is a different scenario. It seems that not only paella and empanadas fall :D

They will all come back even stronger. Patience. Patience is key.

The two tiny differences would be that the Precious Paella Place is intended to have rulers (who enforce rules) and that cutting down the empanada sales would be some religious hunt courtesy of the rulers, whereas Steem is supposed to be decentralized and just run and evolve.

Even though I still hold some loyalty to Steem and its original design (but mostly toward its future), my loyalty is not too strong for anything. I confess that my main interest is just to try to avoid starvation by getting some coin on here.

I'm still touched by the mighty efforts at devaluing the currency I was using to buy my meals and that I may now have to leave Steem if I run out of steam. What looked to be able to reward my efforts in January now seems to be a time sink.

whereas Steem is supposed to be decentralized and just run and evolve.

The usual confusion between "decentralized" and "lack of governance". Being decentralized it doesn't mean there are no rules.

What looked to be able to reward my efforts in January now seems to be a time sink.

At that time you took the time to read about the whole process? Or it was just "as long as I'm getting paid, it must be ok, right?" kind of approach?

It's hard to be low on cash - and I'm not saying this to look down on you, believe me, I've been there many, many times - but that doesn't mean that all our expectations should come true. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

I enjoyed the high rewards just as anyone else here, but at the same time I also knew it will all come to an end.

The only sure thing is that we're all dying a bit every second.

I enjoyed the high rewards just as anyone else here

I didn't enjoy them much, to be honest, in the sense that all I did was reinvest into post promotion to get some SP. I didn't cash out because I was reading some witnesses who didn't support the peg and I thought that they were somehow a majority.

I thought that it would all just increase, maybe stay at 3.5 for a while. But now SBD goes down, Steem goes down and the blockchain gets a steady increase of new users and I'm here feeling selfish while I desperately try to cling to the remnants of my previous earnings.

"as long as I'm getting paid, it must be ok, right?"

Want the truth or the customary "yeah I care" kind of response? I'm not a saint; I'm very far from that. I want Steem to succeed in the long run, but what I really want right now is to escape Venezuela. I can't do that if I don't have enough savings to survive for at least a couple of weeks in whatever country I decide to go to.

Our currency here has like 2800% yearly inflation, so one SBD is a monthly minimum salary, or was before, anyway. I can survive here, among the crime waves, the scarcity and the lack of everything. I'm built for chaos. But I don't want this to become my life.

I'm still very interested in Steem's long-term success regardless of whether I get paid or not, but if I don't get paid I can't be here. I would cheer from the distance and probably feel a bit sad that I couldn't ride the train into paradise, but if in a few months' time I'm not getting enough to survive, no amount of interest will give me the ability to stay.

But if I do stay, I will make sure to try to be good and promote everything and try to make everything grow and be better. It's within my ambitions. Just one step below in priority to my own well-being.

Believe it or not, I feel for you. I'm in a relatively similar position myself, as I am trying to escape my home country as well, before it reaches the stage where Venezuela is right now (because I know for sure it will be there, and it will happen rather sooner than later).

Betting on this type of revenue, though, like Steemit, for backing up such an important move, is a very risky bet. I made a lot of efforts to get and maintain a day job as a programmer and Steemit is just a bonus.

At some point in time, this situation will reverse: Steem will be the main source of revenue, and some programming freelancing will add just a bonus. But this point is not now and I need to move out now.

Wishing the best for you!

..... I'm hungry for some reason now..... ;-)

haha you perfectly summed up the things many will not understand but sbd price according to steemit is still $2 when will it change ?

i had to read this post when i see food lol but you played it smartly here ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33