The Fuckup Files Experiment - Ending It And Final Conclusions

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

A month ago I started an experiment on Steemit, motivated by the arbitrary use of the flagging feature at that time and by the potential of creating a better rewarding algorithm. The experiment was planned for 10 articles but I decided to stop it after seven. The reason is very much related to the changes brought to the platform by the combined HF 17/18. Specifically, the new 7 days payout window messed up with my initial planning. I had a specific algorithm in mind, which depended on a 24 hours payout window. As frustrated as I am about this change, I can't do anything about it, so I might as well just accept the facts as they are and see what I can do - what conclusions I can draw - from what I already have.

Alas, there isn't much to infer, on top of what I already wrote on the partial conclusions, a couple of weeks ago.

I will try to outline them in a more understandable form:

  • if they like the content, people will reward it, regardless of the source (their own pocket or the reward pool)
  • if there's no predictability, people will stop putting skin in the game
  • if the reward brings in turn other rewards (curation), the rewards will increase in value (people see this as an investment: vote with more money and you will get back more money)

Revisited proposal for YAVAP

YAVAP - Yet Another Voting Algorithm Proposal was described initially in [his post], more than 2 months ago. Here are my additions to it, based on the Fuckup Files experiment:

  • content reward should have a mixed structure: partly from people wallet, partly from the rewards pool
  • there will be a direct correspondence between personal contribution and the amount drawn from the reward pool, based on a certain ratio, changed every few weeks or months (like the diff in mining).
  • curation reward should be based not on the amount drawn by the vote from the rewards pool, but from what user contributes from his own wallet

Here's a simplified formula:

PC = Personal Contribution (what the user is giving away with his vote, from his own wallet)
USP = User Steem Power
RPC = Reward Pool Contribution (the amount which is drawn from the reward pool as a consequence of the vote)
UCR = User Curation Reward (what the user receives as a curation reward)
AR = Author Reward
D = Difficulty Multiplier

RPC = PC * D * (1,000/SP)
AR = PC + RPC
UCR = RPC * D * (10,000/SP)

Example:

PC = 10 Steem
USP = 10,000 (a small dolphin)
D = 0.8
RPC = 10 * 0.8 * (1,000/10,000) = 0.8 Steem
AR = 10 + 0.8 = 10.8 Steem
UCR = 0.8 * 0.8 * (10,000 / 10,000) = 0.64 Steem

The same example, with D changed to be 12.4, and PC 1 Steem

PC = 1 Steem
USP = 10,000 (a small dolphin)
D = 12.4
RPC = 1 * 12.4 * (1,000/10,000) = 1.24 Steem
AR = 1 + 1.24 = 2.24 Steem
UCR = 1.24 * 1.24 * (10,000 / 10,000) = 1.5376 Steem

Main key points:

  • D, the "difficulty", will be adjusted by witnesses and included in the blockchain, via a hardfork
  • same thing can be done with the dividers used in RPC and UCR (1,000 for RPC and 10,000 for UCR, these values can be changed until we find a reasonable result)
  • based on D, the formula can give very different results, so it's up to the community to pick the value which favors the most important thing at that time: encouraging user growth, encouraging ROI for SP holders, etc...
  • this formula encourages participation in creating content, creating demand for Steem and glueing Steem Power to something useful.

Waiting for your feedback.

Thank you.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running.

Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Sort:  

I think it is an interesting proposition.
If I vote for you content and it cost me a little money, then no worries.

By the way, it is Sunday here - long run day, and I don't do maths on a Sunday so I skimmed over your calculations. Sorry.

If we looked at it like this it might help.

The rewards pool is a bonus pool. When you upvote content you do it from your own wallet. The money from the reward pool is a bonus added onto that, based on [maths].

If you let me choose how much I send along with my upvote - as I could in your experiment, then I have control over my spending, which is good.

So at the moment, if i vote for something that is just ok - it is worth the same as if I vote on something fantastic. Yes we have the slider thingy, but I never use it. if I'm voting I'm voting full noise so that the person get the full value from me (which is pretty much nothing + 0.000001 STEEM) :-)

So I'd support a shift to using my own money as a reward system backed up by the reward pool.

Thanks for running the experiment @dragosroua.

So what's next? ;-)

Glad you like the proposition. What's next? I don't know. If more people like this formula and the witnesses agree on it, then it may be tried, I guess.

Let's read the new VIVAcoin white paper and support this new exiting experiment.

I really like the idea of an option added to the vote button that would allow you to put a monetary amount on it myself. I've sent steem to people out of appreciation for their posts only to have it sent back to me at times because they think of it as charity.

Thank you for the feedback :) I have to say I didn't pay much attention to the YAVAP when you released it :) but it seems really reasonable, very fluid and at the same time I'm missing how the main component, being donations will function, after the fagging bs, I was also thinking of another way to reward posts, one being adding directly to the pool, but I suppose that is why the promotion is there,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73