The Crypto Week In Review

in #steemit6 years ago

Starting today, I will post every weekend the 5 most relevant crypto news from the previous week, in a short report. Although I'm actively monitoring my news feeds, I don't always post every piece I read about, for many reasons. One of them being I don't want to clog the blockchain with unnecessary stuff.

But I often feel the need for some context around the crypto area, and maybe this weekly roundup will do the trick.

Please let me know what you think about the format, and also about the type of news selected for this report.

Monday - The Silence Of The Lambos

According to a news published on Coindesk, Kurt Russel will star in a Hollywood movie about crypto.

The film, entitled Crypto, will feature Russell as well as Alexis Bledel, Jeremie Harris and Luke Hemsworth, among others. The Hollywood Reporter notes that the film focuses on a young anti-money laundering agent, played by Beau Knapp, who returns to his hometown in New York to investigate a case of corruption and fraud. Russell is playing the father of Knapp's character, according to press materials.

Tuesday - Direct Crypto Trading In Square's Cash

Cash, the popular money sending app made by Square, announced they are allowing direct crypto buying and selling from within the app, following a license get from the state of New York. Two things are interesting about this news:

  • Square is co-founded and run by Twitter CEO Jack Dorsey, and already holds a money-transmitter license from the department
  • New York was, until recently, very conservative towards crypto

Wednesday - Bithumb Hacked

Bithumb, one of the biggest crypto exchanges, reported a theft of around $30 million in crypto, according to CNN.

The notice didn't say how the theft of 35 billion won ($32 million) worth of cryptocurrencies occurred or which ones were taken.
The exchange said it will compensate the loss from its own funds and that all customers' assets have been "securely saved" in the company's "cold wallet."

Thursday - Akon To Launch Akoin

Rapper Akon (known for a few hits, including "Smash That") announced recently he will launch his own token, called Akoin. This is the second time a public person announced a token related to their public image, after John Mcaffee announced his own crypto token.

Friday - Secret Service: We Don't Like Anonymous Tokens

According to a report by Forbes, a US Secret Service official addressed the Congress about anonymous crypto like Monero and ZCash, which, in his opinion, are supporting money laundering.

“We should ... consider additional legislative or regulatory actions to address potential challenges related to anonymity-enhanced cryptocurrencies,” Robert Novy, deputy assistant director in the U.S. Secret Service’s Office of Investigations, wrote in his written testimony to Congress.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

I think Zcash and Monero getting scrutinized by the US secret service is unfair. The government already has access to so much out of the public and they continue to what more. We are truly slaves to the system.

Nice review will be nice to see it on weekly basis

I dont think that celebrities launching cryptos is a good idea - it just attracts more people to crypto who dont understand it. We want mass adoption but this will take a long time

That would be great, now we can read main crypto new through your blog, thank you that @dragosroua

LOL AKOIN! I love it.

I hope that movie doesn't turn out awful... I have a feeling it could turn out awful.

Great to see your review.. this is helping so many people.. thank you @dragosroua

Good post my dear friend!!!!

Interesting there is a lot of news happening in the world that we did not find out I had not read any of this

You have been great to provide all the news that we want. Can you suggest some ways to exchange steem with fiat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78