Steemit Just Launched AppBase, Here's How You Can Help

in #steemit6 years ago

Decentralization is not just a philosophical approach or a trendy word you can use at a geek party (and get noticed for that), it's also a pattern in writing code. As such, developers of Steem blockchain are trying to implement it by making the Steem blockchain server / nodes as modular as possible.

In other words, they are working on a transition that will make easier for those running a Steem node to choose which components they want to implement. As of now, the options for doing this are relatively limited. This leads to an increased usage resource and it makes it relatively expensive to maintain a full node (not as expensive as running a Bitcoin mining factory, that's true, but still relevantly expensive). Switching to a modular approach will give developers more options as to what to include or not in their Steem instances.

The code name of this new stage of Steem development is AppBase, and its availability was just announced a few hours ago in a @steemitdev post.

I will skip the technical stuff, as it is not relevant at the moment, but I will urge you to go and test this release. In order to do that, you have to use another site, called steemitstage.com. This site is run by Steemit inc and they implemented the same security measures as in Steemit.com, so it's safe to use.

If you spot something unusual, just leave a comment and I'll do my best to translate this into a bug report.

I just want to remind you that AppBase is one of the first steps Steemit announced it will make this year (together with the very much awaited launch of Smart Media Tokens) and, so far, they are on track.

Congrats, guys!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

I just want to remind you that AppBase is one of the first steps Steemit announced it will make this year (together with the very much awaited launch of Smart Media Tokens) and, so far, they are on track.

An old developers' rule.

Multiply timeframes by 2.
Divide utility by 10.

This is golden Vik xD
"It's funny cuz it's true!"

These plugins can be updated much more rapidly because they do not require replaying the entire blockchain.

Woow, I hadn't understood this well from your post but now that I read the original it sounds so awesome! I'm always struggling as a dev because the blockchain passes way too many irrelevant messages! It's super great to have this addition. Thanks for telling us about it! I'll make sure to give it a test ride.

Dose it have some new stuff that we can see , or it's just tech updates?

just tech for now

I would love to have the necessary knowledge to run a node and thus forget my platonic dream of having a Bitmain machine, hahaha ...

The costs you mention only focus on the electrical expense?

No, it's just the hardware, mostly RAM, and hosting.

ThinkServer TS150
Maximum Memory: 64GB
Processor Core: Quad-core (4 Core)
Processor Speed: 3.30GHz

I imagine or can I imagine that the storage would have to be higher than 5TB?

With something like that, would it be enough? I do not think true.

Storage must be SSD and I advise to have at least 450 GB (available, on top of operating system) if you intend to run a full node.

I've just added this comment from steemitstage and so far all looks fine (although it seems much faster than steemit).

So this is basically an under the hood change necessary to get SMTs running? I don't know what I'm looking for but I'll take some time today to play over at steemitstage and let you know if I encounter anything wonky.

I have already tested steemitstage.com and go much faster than steemit.com. I think it's a great improvement. In my opinion !

Community means strength that join our strength to do the work that needs to be done.Arms to hold us when we falter.A circle of healing a circle of friends.some place where we can be free...
stay blessed thanks for sharing the post:):)

Its a really good development considering how modular development makes it for software developers to work on different parts of a project independently.

I don't have tech background so it is difficult to grab the fullest idea from this post. However, I understand the concept of SMT. So, what I have perceived from this post is that this is a step forward in launching SMTs. Can't wait for this launch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58757.77
ETH 2554.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52