Steemit.com Updates: More Speed, Undelegating Inactive (And Abusive Accounts) And More

in #steemit6 years ago

In a blog post published just a few hours ago on the @steemitblog account, a series of updates to the Steemit ecosystem are highlighted. If you want the full story, just go ahead and read it all, but if you're here just for the TL/DR version (too long, didn't read), then here are the blurbs:

  • RocksDB was implemented in production - this is a new storage layer that will drastically lower the amount of RAM needed for content nodes, and it was in tests for a while. It is now deployed in production and I suspect this was the reason for the few hiccups I spotted this week
  • a new account that is inactive for 90 days will have its initial Steem Power undelegated automatically. This is a very good way to make use of the Steemit Inc SP (because that's how new accounts are funded) and it will discourage abuse. If the account becomes active again, its initial SP will be delegated back. I think we will see the effects of this measure in about 3 months from now.
  • abusive accounts are now getting their Steemit Inc SP undelegated as well (it's only about the SP delegated by Steemit Inc, not by other people). The list of abusive accounts can be seen here: https://github.com/steemit/redeemer-irredeemables

All in all, a very good round of updates. What I appreciate the most is not the quantity, nor the quality of these updates, but their consistency. It looks like various teams from inside the Steemit Inc (Application Team, DevPortal, etc) are starting to update in a more consistent way.

With that being said, I have a hunch that SMT are just around the corner.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

I am waiting for thus to happens , i like your all news and post .

Your post is always different i follow your blog everytime , your post is so helpful . I always inspire of your post on my steem work . Thank you for sharing @dragosroua

Keep good work of every time ...

the team is now being more active than ever and we are now getting some detailed information which is great for the platform

Most abusive contents comes from guys with alot of steem power that they not need/ have the delegated SP from Steemit Inc. How do you reign in / control those people

Thanks..sir for your update news.

Taking delegations back from inactive accounts and abusive ones is a great step in the right direction.

I hope they're also working on ways to stop spam accounts signing up in the first place.

Looking at the abusive accounts that have been found there are many blocks of 10 which I would think would be pretty easy to detect at the sign up stage.

For example:
address100
address101
address102
address103
address104
address105
address106
address107
address108
address109

It's great to see that steps are being made in these areas though. 😊

Talking about abusive accounts being indelegated. What kind of abuse are we talking about here? The delegation given bt steemit inc is quite too small to pose a threat on any account once it ia being taken away. Is this a way of punishing the abusive accounts or what?

Spammers mostly I think.

I am waiting for this to happens, in this way we will only get active users on our beloved platform

Good news, motivates that so many people are working for the best functioning of the platform.

I think the initiative that the new accounts that will not be delegated automatically, (the SP), is great. I imagine that many people who have joined this community rarely connect with Steemit and continue delegating, this aspect caused me some problems a few weeks ago and it was quite uncomfortable. The platform is getting better and better!

SMT will take us to the moon amidst several airdrops. Steemit Inc. is not relenting....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84