Steemit 2017 Roadmap - The 7 Most Important Points

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


As promised by Steemit co-founders, @ned and @dan, the Steemit roadmap was released a few hours ago. It's a 22 pages PDF document which may be downloaded from here:

https://steem.io/2017roadmap.pdf

The Top 7 Key Points

For those of you accustomed with my detailed approach to the hardfork proposals, this will be different. I will leave you the pleasure to read the entire roadmap yourself. Not only will I think it will be an interesting read, but, as early adopters, I also think it's our responsibility to get informed as much as we can. We are all stakeholders here.

So, instead of doing a detailed review of all the points, I will gloss over the 7 most important ones. The choice is obviously subjective, it's what I think is important.

Steemit.com

These are features related distinctively to the steemit.com website. The one you'e using right now.

1. Steem Login and signing service for safe and easy third-party app integrations

Target: Q3 2017.

This features allows - if I understand it correctly - a standardized way to login into various external web resources, using your Steemit credentials, but independent from Steemit.com, a la OAuth. It makes a lot of sense that this feature should be created and monitored by Steemit, although other implementations, quite good, are already going on (steemconnect.com). This will incentivize third-party web apps creators to implement new ways of creating and consuming content off of the Steem blockchain. In simpler words, it will support accelerated growth.

2. Comment moderation for post authors

Target: Q2, 2017.

Right of speech and censorship resistance are at the very core of Steemit. They are also my number one reason to be here. But, as last months showed us, some people are abusing the platform in ways that hinders its organic spread. Moderation in comments means we, as authors, we'll be able to choose which comments are displayed and which are not. The comments we choose not to show are not deleted, they are still in the blockchain, if anyone wish to peruse them. I think this feature will clear up the air big time in the community. The level of toxicity during the last month was sometimes beyond my level of tolerance. I'm all for debating and supporting different points of view and opinions, but I'm completely thrown off by insults and meaningless trolling (yes, there is such a thing as meaningless trolling, even trolling can be done in an intelligent and constructive way).

3. Community Namespaces and Moderation

Target: Q3 2017.

As far as I understand, there are two types of communities planned: moderated and closed. "Closed" refers to the fact that only founders or members can post, not that the posts are private. "Moderated" means everybody can post and it's up to the founders and moderators to show / hide certain posts (similar to sub-reddits). I also understand that this feature can be coupled with the following one, in which founders can decide an arbitrary amount of rewards for community posts. This arbitrary split of rewards is by far the most important feature from this roadmap (and I already hailed it when it was first announced as a target for Hardfork 17) but even without the coupling, communities are a great way to increase affinity to the platform. It was also one of the most requested features when I asked for suggestions in regards to HF 17, so that means there are ears at Steemit headquarters and those ears are working. Very good.

Steem Blockchain

These are features related distinctively to the Steem blockchain, the data backend of Steemit.com.

1. Arbitrary splitting of post rewards, for revenue splitting

Target: Q2 2017.

I already said it, once implemented this feature will change the whole game of social media globally. I stand by my words. For those of you not yet exposed to this, it means that you can split the rewards of a certain Steem-based platform arbitrarily. Example: you run a website called SteemQuiz.com, which clones StackOverflow. Each transaction you post on the blockchain (being a post, a comment or a vote) can be customized in such a way that rewards are split, like, let's say: SteemQuiz.com 2%, Post: 50%, Comments 30%, votes 18%. I don't know if this will be the exact implementation, but that's the general idea. Once out, this will open the door to virtually anyone to leverage the Steem blockchain into their own projects. It's huge.

The only think that worries me is that if Steem, the blockchain, goes viral, there will be significant growth problems (read: blockchain bottlenecks in processing transactions). Which leads us, organically, to the next feature from the list.

2. Multi-Chain Parallelism

Target: Q4 2017.

Simply put, this means that around the main blockchain, more side-chains, oriented towards specific transactions, will unload the power processing into parallel tasks. In the roadmap, the term used is a "fabric" of chains, but I think that there are a collection of specific side-chains linked together. The feature is meant to address the potential workload generated by increase in usage and, to be honest, I would have loved to see this implemented sooner, not in Q4. I understand Q2 is unreasonable, but at least Q3 would make me happier. I also understand that creating this infrastructure is a huge computing challenge. I'd love to see this process unfolding and I'll continue to keep a curious eye on the Github repository.

Steemit Inc

These are organizational goals, related strictly to the creators of Steem and Steemit.

1. We’re hiring the best talent globally

Target: Ongoing

It was just about time. I think this is probably the biggest challenge of Steemit Inc for this year. Finding excellent, reliable and loyal team mates is a daunting task. I've been there oh, so many times. But there is a little bit of advantage for Steemit Inc here: being able to monitor for the last 5-6 months some members of the community (developers, writers, community leaders) they already have a potential pool of people. I already started to contribute, from my witness position, to this project and I am very curious to see what other ways are to be part of this.

2. We plan to decentralize the @steemit account stake

Target: Ongoing.

The @steemit account was the topic of many heated discussions, both on the blockchain and in the chat rooms. The fact that a lot of Steem is blocked into a single account raised suspicions. Some of the projects funded by Steemit during the beta stage most likely benefited from this account, but I don't think it was very transparent or standardized. The public announcement of the divesting process is very important. Strategically speaking, it signals the fact that worthwhile products and processes will be supported directly, which should increase both confidence and affinity.


All in all, I think this roadmap is doable. That's the most important quality of a roadmap, in my opinion, to be realistic, plausible and doable. There's no point in making a roadmap for taking people to Mars, for instance, if you know this is not yet possible.

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as a Steemit witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Nice work @dragosroua.
I too think this is a good roadmap for 2017.
I think a lot of people fail to grasp just how big this thing is.
It's not like they have built a small blogging engine with a minimalist interface.
They are building something transformative that transcends Steemit.com.

They are literally re-writing how the internet will work for a large section of the population in the future.

Not something you do over a weekend when it's raining outside ;-)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Great analysis. Simple explanation.... Followed for laymans breakdown. Thanks for explaining it a bit!

Thans for willing to stay informed. :)

Fantastic article. Very informative and great for those starting out

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it :)

Very great analysis! Thanks for sharing it!

I am looking forward to all these changes (the community ones in particular).

Thank you, yes the community feature will be really interesting.

Thank you, @dragsroua, for your multiple services to us all! ;) 😄😇😄

@creatr

Been seeing mixed reviews and still working on an opinion. But all said seems like it can be a good thing since it hits the more general issues. I think many were also expecting the road map to deal more with specifics. Since topics they consider important where not addressed it seems to be an issue still. I'm going to read through it and see what to make of it and go from there.

I suggest you form your own opinion. If you borrow other people views you risk making their mistakes as well, which is a shame. It's much more fulfilling to make your own mistakes :)

I plan to read it through, think it might have some great explanations is it.

Damn, I posted my own review 1 minute after yours. Great minds think alike :D

I can't think of any reason to ever censor any kind of comments to a point where you have to dig through a bockchain to read someone's thoughts. That feature will basically be abused on anyone OP dislikes.

Good point. But I'd still prefer ability to check it via some option quickly like "show hidden" in case it was a feature abused to hide some post. If there will be a way to gain from abusing a feature, it will be, sadly.

We'll see how this gets implemented.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33