Steem Smart Media Tokens versus AKASHA Colored Essence

in #steemit6 years ago

AKASHA was, a couple of years ago, a project aligned head to head with Steemit. It had a similar vision, but diverging execution paths. And although both projects started around the same time, they are now in different positions.

There are a few significant differences between them, but, at their core, they are both social media platforms built on top of a blockchain.

I wrote about AKASHA quite a lot when it was launched, almost 2 years ago, but then, due to lack of news and a surprising slow development, my interest faded. Lately, AKASHA seemed to experience some kind of revival, though. They announced the end of the alpha stage (and the obvious start of the beta stage) and also they shared their vision about the network token.

One of the main differences between Steem and AKASHA is that AKASHA doesn't have a token (nor did they ran an ICO, obviously) but they also didn't completely repel the potential existence of a token. This ambivalent communication vibe is quite common in AKASHA's standard narrative, almost as common as the lengthy, metaphorical blog posts on their main site (which are interesting in the beginning, but tend to get rather boring after a couple of years).

In their latest blog post about the current development status, something very interesting was announced: Colored Essence. It's their idea about a token. It wasn't launched yet, and I'm having a hard time understanding if and how they will ever launch it (like I said, the blog posts are lengthy, metaphorical and lacking the practical details I'm used to when reading development blog posts). But what stroke me is the similarity with Steem's Smart Media Tokens.

So, as far as I understand, the base token of AKASHA could be something called Essence.

when trying to understand the concept of Essence, it is helpful to imagine it as a white glowing liquid which resembles water.

But on top of this Essence, one could also have (create? implement? derivate?) Colored Essence, like this:

When starting, the users will have in their balance “pure Essence” that they can use to either participate in an existing community/signal (Colors) or to create their own by coloring their Essence. On the other hand, if an user wants to remove themselves from a particular community/signal, the “Colored Essence” can be decolored back in its “pure Essence” form.

So, in Steem blockchain terms, the Essence is STEEM, and Colored Essence is the Smart Media Token that one could create on top of STEEM.

This entire paradigm looks very close to SMT. And, in a way, it validates it. Interestingly enough, it validates it before either of them tokens are even launched.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Smart Media Token is the clear winner.

I wonder if there will be an Herbal Essence?

Seriously, Thanks @dragosroua, I had never heard of AKASHA before...

Colored Essence... Oh my...

Akasha transaction is not free, to write a post will have to pay
Transaction in Steem free
I think this is enough

got to know this today didn't know about this akasha sound's great steemit has came a long way

Interesting, this is the first i'm hearing of akasha. Thx for an informative write up

I tried Akasha for a while and I like where it was going last I logged in, but then I discovered Steem. BYE!

I have some time "publishing" in AKASHA, I have found the experience unsatisfactory, I made some publications here on my blog, it seemed like a great project, more about the Ethereum block chain, but I see difficulties in the AKASHA platform, it is tremendously slow, many of the images with which you support your publication disappear or appear days later, I'm still waiting for it to improve and have the ease with which we enjoy in Steemit, obvious thanks to the witnesses.

Here is an image that I shared and published in my beginnings in AKASHA.

AKASHA.png

From Aztec lands I send you a greeting and a fraternal hug, good day.

Well that seems quite interesting @dragosroua. I'm so glad you're following it and I'm following you so I don't have to plough through the metaphors myself! 😁

One really has to be very very attuned to all this stuff to keep things straight.
I'm just along for the ride. (-:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97