Steem Rewards Pool Close To 800,000 STEEM, Keeps Growing

in #steemit6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-09-29 at 12.56.26 PM.png


As you can see from the screenshot above (taken a few minutes ago from steem.supply), the rewards pool is growing really fast. It's the highest level since I started to watch this metric, 4 months ago.

In my opinion, there are a few causes for this:

  • HF 20 implementation brought blockchain to a flatline for a few days, days in which interaction was nearly zero, but in which the blockchain continued to "print" tokens
  • HF 20 changed the destination of the self-voting curation rewards in the first 15 minutes, which is now redirected to the rewards pool instead of going to the author

Although the new account creation mechanism burns the creation fee (which should diminish supply) it looks like inactivity generated by the recent bugs in HF 20 is bigger than that (I don't think the second cause accounts for more than 5% than the overall increase, though).

I think we will have a much clearer image over the state of Steemit at the beginning of the next week (pending no other bugs are discovered).


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

The ~800,000 STEEM in the rewards pool is the amount paid out over 7 days, right?

thanks.

I don't find this surprising at all, seeing that a lot of people have opted to wait with voting until they have higher voting power again.

I was wondering why my voting power keeps increasing, its 8 days later and its still increasing. I like this, but i wonder how long it will last.

At least one good thing to immediately take away from the HF

That is an interesting statistic, as people start using the platform it will be interesting to see how it settles to

Sorry still not voting yet my RC is up close to 100% so I can comment but I want to give another day or half day to get my Voting power up again before I start vioting

This means that there will be more rewards for those that are active on steem now, because they will earn more from their post and content

Does that mean that our power to upvote is bigger ? what is the role of the reward pool ?

Yes, pretty much. The rewards given out are based on how much Steem Power is used to upvote the different posts, and how much is left in the reward pool. So your votes will be worth a little bit more now that the reward pool is higher. This stuff is pretty complex, but maybe @dragosroua himself can explain it in further details.

Great time to steem on thanks for sharing this stat's :)

It is interesting to see how the blockchain reacts to the issues going on due to users not accessing.

...it will be very interesting to see if we have lost people because of this...

(fortunately retention has never been big problem here !..lol...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67