No, Your Reputation Didn't Suddenly Go To 25, It's Just A Display Bug And It's Being Worked On

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

A couple of users asked me during the last half an hour why their reputation is suddenly at 25 in steemit.com. I looked up my own reputation and indeed, it shows 25. This is 99% a UI bug, and it is confirmed by the issue opened by @timcliff two hours ago. It may also be related to an upgrade to the APIs which is unfolding these days.

It affects only reputation in the account, not the one shown to a user card next to a post or a comment.


Screen Shot 2018-01-09 at 11.06.56 AM.png


So, what you can do about it?

Waiting would be an option.

Another option would be to go the link above, in Github, and upvote the issue to make it more likely to be picked up by developers.

And yet another option would be, if you're a dev, to solve it and submit a pull request. :)

Steem on!

Later edit: on my steemit.com instance it seems solved now, 11:25 EET


Screen Shot 2018-01-09 at 11.24.49 AM.png


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

Is this also a bug? My delegated steem of 147 has been withdrawn now.

alo thanks for the heads up :)

And last but not least, accounts are burned, steem stops delegation, it's coming, exciting...

Also the bandwidth shows "zero" value:

thanks for pointing this out

I am not sure if this is a related question or not but my steempower has almost halved. Previously it was 28 (new account) but suddenly today (6th day on Steemit) it has reduced to 14.5 :-( Can you please help me understand why this has happened?

That happened to me yesterday. It must have been the day to do it for many new accounts since mine was 7 days old.

Screen Shot 2018-01-09 at 4.19.43 AM.png

If you go to your wallet and look at your Steem Power, you should see you have an actual STEEM amount of X (whatever it is), and below that, another amount of what's called delegated STEEM in parenthesis or (X).

The first STEEM is ours to keep—Steemit spots it to us (along with the cost to open the account). The delegated STEEM is so new accounts have a minimum of $0.01 upvote power for at least a few votes (depends on how liberally you hit the upvote button).

Delegated STEEM apparently goes away (I knew it would, I just didn't know when) around the time you're anticipating your first payday. That's what happened to me, anyway. It ended up taking away the ability to upvote for most of yesterday, and at one point, I was also into negative bandwidth (or so it said on steemd.com). The bandwidth came back to full strength rather quickly. Voting power did not.

Now as I look on steemd.com, I too, have zero bandwidth again, according to the indicator. If this comment went through, I guess it will be the bug in the UI there, as it also shows 25 reputation score while elsewhere it shows I still have the 38 I was last night.

The minimum delegation time is 7 days so that's probably why it was withdrawn at the 7th day mark. I do think that this is causing more issues than the witnesses thought it would. I am sure they will work on it.

I think you told me that once, and that's fine. I'm sure there's a good reason for doing it.

As it is, it's been kind of a freaky day for me on Steemit, so I think there might be more involved than just the removal of delegated STEEM Power. Like overloaded bandwidth or something.

At one point I was told I could only comment every 20 seconds. I got the ability to upvote back an hour or so ago and have been trying to catch up posts, comments and replies I liked. The circle that you click to upvote would spin and spin and spin and sometimes would not stop spinning until I refreshed the page. Some upvotes just wouldn't take, so I had to try a number of times, which I imagine was working on my bandwidth.

Kind of frustrating way to start week two when week one went relatively well.

Screen Shot 2018-01-09 at 4.39.06 AM.png

So that's a screenshot of what the total amounts of STEEM looks like in my wallet right now. It had adjusted the delegated STEEM from 27-something to 12-something, giving me a new total of 15 SP. Since I got paid my first round of SBD/SP, the STEEM amount went up. Now the delegated STEEM has adjusted down again. Apparently they want to keep me at 15 SP :)

Hmmm... Thanks for the detailed explanation.

This is probably normal.... New accounts get some delegated power and that delegated power decreases after some time and one day it becomes zero. That delegated power is just a sign up gift and they might remove it in the future.

The thing is, I don't know how many days this process take, I thought it would stay 20+ for a two weeks... Hope someone more knowledgeable answers this. @dragosroua

I didn't know that it was a gift I thought you had that SP forever?

I did notice this, this morning. Maybe this preparation of the upcoming hard fork somehow?

maybe... But I have a huge expectations for the future of steemit.

Thanks for the explanation. I felt heartbroken initially, lolz

Thank you so much for the detailed response :-) I upvoted your response though my upvoted is not worth much :P

I was about to faint when i saw it

Were you thinking about who might have downvoted or flagged you? That's what I was thinking... but then again I think I got more upvotes when my reputation was lower and I was still new to steemit :D

Yes i was wondering who down voted me

Same here, what happened?! Like 25? Overnight? Good to hear this

Haha me too!

@dragosroua I had a mild heart attack when I saw that (25) next to my name (not that my reputation score is high enough to worry about) :D

Lol, I was just waking up this morning and checking Steemd to see if their was something interesting going on.

And I was like : 'reputation from 47 --> 25 overnight, come again?'Also it didn't help that at the exact same moment. Steem decided to un-delegate the Steem they addressed to me this summer.

Oh noooo! It must have been a shock to the system :D

A couple of users asked me during the last half an hour why their reputation is suddenly at 25 in steemit.com.

Yep, it was funny to see 25 reputation score for @acidyo on https://steemd.com in the morning))

Thanks, I was scared a bit, but seeing this made me a little bit more calm.

I was also confused about the Reputation score but thanks you made it clear.

Please! Let me know why does bandwidth limit exceed if i do 7-8 comments in a whole day?? I also Powered Up twice to resolve this issue but again sometimes it happens with me.

oh thank god i saw this too but refreshed the page and it was back to normal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65692.16
ETH 3511.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53