New UI Improvements For Steemit / Condenser: Default Payout Settings For Posts And Comments

in #steemit6 years ago

Looks like every few days there is a new small addition to Steemit, mostly in the UI / UX area. And boy, those additions are badly needed.

As of today, the defaults for payments have been added to the Settings area:


Screen Shot 2018-05-03 at 11.09.03 AM.png


So now there is a place from where you can set up how you want your payouts to be made: 100% Power Up, 50% SBD / 50% STEEM, or Decline Payout. And, which is kinda new, the same goes for comments as well.

Related to this improvement, there is still a discussion going on about modifying the way Decline Payout works, which could be changed to "Burn Rewards", which will actually sent the potential rewards to null. The idea is that burning the rewards will decrease supply and increase the price. There are a few other suggestions to this proposal, if you fancy tech talk with a dash of trading lingo, then feel free to check out this Github issue.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Screenshot_20180502-022900.png

You can also directly upload images for cover and profile pictures

Nice catch, I didn't see that.

Happy to see the developers behind Steemit are working for the improvement of the whole ecosystem...Beta releases tend to have bugs, software products constantly evolve as user needs change, and the Steemit team is dedicated enough to improve the product from a usability, UX, and technical perspective. The end result would obviously be better product..

Also the update removed the option to auto-vote the newly created posts:

They removed the checkbox, but I remember the checkbox was by default unchecked long ago. Anyways, nice catch :)

That's a helpful change. I like the idea of having the option to burn your payout. It would be a simple way for whales to shift value back to the minnows.

I like the idea too, but in this case they will not "shift" anything as the potential payout will be simply destroyed, not returned to the rewards pool. It may have an impact by increasing the price of STEEM, but I don't see how this may shift value directly to minnows.

Theoretically speaking, it would. Burning Steem would decrease supply, theoretically putting upward pressure on the market price of Steem. The higher the market price, the lower the mvest threshold necessary for a $0,01 upvote. If we can get people to $0.01 upvotes faster then they start to feel like their votes actually have meaning and, in my opinion, are more likely to stay on the platform.

Cool i was looking for that for long time

That's a nice improvement, offering more options is always a good sign.
Thanks for the info.

Any idea why we no longer can see the view count on posts? Seems like that is a loss to the UI for me.

No idea why / when this was taken out. I can only infer that it may have been considered a bit misleading, since it only showed views count for steemit.com, and not views from busy.org, dtube, etc...

Even if it is only showing Steemit views it is still a valid metric IMHO. I think it's kind of a cool idea to be able to see how many views on Steemit, Busy, Dtube....this is about understanding your audience.

Could this all be related to velocity?

I know the talk was altering the payout system somewhat to give more to the curators.

Condenser is the Steemit UI and its development is a separate process from the Steemd blockchain (which is where the hardforks occur). Some hardforks may have UI implications, but the development is mainly decoupled.

I do like the idea about the burn when the declined payout is chosen!
I discovered the changes yesterday! While I don't mind that they change things, I did not read about it anywhere, which is a pity. By moving it, they created a lot of fuss, because people were thinking that they would by default got the 100% Steem payout!
They also removed the option to automatically upvote your own post (don't mind because I normally don't use it) and the view count has also disappeared when looking at a post. This one I miss because it gives an immediate indication if votes were bought of not! Always strange to see a post with 50+ upvotes and you are the second one to view it! It feels like this change is to spread dust over the bot usage!

What would help more people here is an on board translator. I have one installed on my wordpress site, a Google translator I can use or hide.

This would bring the community closer in my opinion.

Nice suggestion!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62984.33
ETH 2453.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67