Ned Scott, CEO of Steemit INC, Announces Smart Media Tokens - Tokens On Top Of The Steemit Blockchain

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This just came out an hour ago, so I thought to let you know about it:



I just started to read the white paper, once I'm done, I'm going to write my feedback on it.

Meanwhile, STEEM is pumping :)


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

The concept of ERC20-type tokens on the Steemit blockchain sounds interesting and exciting, but with the SEC already saying most of these ICOs are securities, I'm not sure what the legal standing of any of these new tokens will be, or what are the implications for Steemians who issue such tokes will be.

As a person who doesn't live in US, I'm not concerned with this, but I understand you.

If you issue these SMT tokens and U.S. residents start buying and selling these, I'd say you would need to be concerned.

Me? Or the people who are buying them? It's a purely theoretical question...

You, the issuer! SEC in their last statement said buyers may also have legal risk.

I just checked my phone for the first time since this morning and I curious what caused the volume spike and massive green candle today. Looks like it plowed right through the 0.0003 /BTC level that's been so stubborn recently.

Thank You Dragos... AND of course...

BIG Kudos to @Ned and his Team 4 the creation of SmartMedia Coins !!

Cheers !!

Hey, thanks for sharing. Could you please update the post with the whitepaper or website link for Smart Media Tokens.

thanks for the heads up, I added a link to the white paper.

Very interesting times ahead! I'm also reading the whitepaper, look forward to seeing how it's received by the community...

pumped. this could be big with the right execution. certainly love the website they did. that whitepaper is big, gonna print and find a coffee shop, but not today!

Hope it finds new heights and stays there

Thanks, I felt like this is a huge announcement but it is too technical for me at the moment unfortunately

Thanks for the links to your previous posts! Just read them all; can't upvote as they were 4 months ago, but gave you a 100% upvote for this post!

Bought some STEEM yesterday and am pretty happy about my timing. Not trading it, just adding more power.

Thanks, and welcome :)

Why do I smell some sort of spin-off ICO?

From what I read so far in the white paper, the protocol they intend to launch contains a significant part dedicated to preparation, implementation and launch of an ICO, as a way to distribute your own token. Seems like they're targeting ERC-20 token hunters. And I must say they're in a better position than Ethereum.

This could be really big,

You don't think that putting SMT on comment sections won't harm STEEM in anyway?

Not at all. Golem, Iconomi, Gnosis, all these ERC-20 tokens didn't harm Ethereum in any way, on the contrary. This step means they morph into a multi-token platform, from a single-token issuer.

Okay. That was my only worry.
Not sure if it is useful me, other than being part of any system that uses it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80