More Safety Stuff On Steemit: Warnings On Wallet-Chat

in #steemit6 years ago

Since there is no real chat or messenger integrated in the Steemit UI, people have been using a workaround: sending very small amounts of STEEM / SBD and putting their message in the memo. I remember this since I joined the platform, more than a year ago, and although I found it odd in the beginning, I got used to it.

The problem with this wallet-chat (as I call it) is that it can be abused (like any other form of communication). Like in people sending small amounts of SBD / STEEM and then putting in the memo links to scam sites or fake exchange accounts.

Until recently, there was no way to prevent this type of behavior. But now it seems Condenser (the Steemit.com UI on to of the STEEM blockchain) introduced an interesting warning.

Here's how it looks:


Screen Shot 2018-03-02 at 11.48.16 PM.png


The good part is that the algorithm seems to be constantly adjusted. I reviewed my wallet history a few hours after that and found the original memo, which looks like this:


Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 11.04.26 AM.png


I didn't verify that service and I don't intend to, so I can't tell if it's really scammy or not. The point is not that. The point is that now we have an extra layer of safety on Steemit and that makes the platform better.

Congrats to those who implemented it!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

Good progress by Steemit Inc., This is really a nice little feature to warn about potential scam or abuse...Keep on improving this amazing Blockchain!!

hmm, this still can be circumvented:
Make a new account, post one or 2 things, so you get a reputation above 30.
stop posting.
7 days later, start your scam business.
Without any new postings, your reputation cannot change.

But yes, this extra layer filters out another level of scammers.
Good work there, STINC Team!

This is my concern as well. However, it might be enough to deter a few scammers from even bothering now that they need to do some more work before they can start their scamming business. But yeah, we still need more and better tools to deal with these people.

And as a scammer, you just need one hit.
Or maybe 2, to get your invest returned+ win.

So with the forced mainstreaming of Steem, this will be worse and worse.

That's a good point. I really hope we will see a better system for this in the future, but I have no idea how this issue should be solved to be honest.

That great thing to have
Steemit still have a long way of adding new stuff everytime i find something new here i'm feeling very happy as it show they are in the right way

I agree; it feels great to see these small updates to the Steemit interface :)

Wow. This is great. Many have recently been falling victim of these miscreants. Robbing people of accounts they've built with so much persistence and consistency.

Kudos to the developers.

But really, this method of sending personal messages is just awkward. Steemit is a decentralized platform so why hasn't anyone come up with a means of sending personal messages to people on steemit ? Well, except they have their reasons for not providing such opportunity. People just always find a way to abuse anything .

Thats a good improvement to steemit.com. it helps to warn of people with excessive spams and potential hackers who can steal ones lifetime saving. Good work guys

It is truth that it is happening and it is increasing amongst steemians. I have also done this types of wrong. But it is not more than two. Thank you, Today I learned new matter through your post. Thank you.

i am agree with your opinion.but i have no idea this matter.i have to new joined steemit some days ago. More Safety Stuff On Steemit Warnings On Wallet-Chat this is a important tropic for me.this time i read your post and i have some idea this matter.my needs your support for steemit work.thank u very much for your good information sharing. @dragosroua

As steemit it is going up and grow day by day its another feature of steemit inc, its really a nice little feature to warn about potential scam keep sharing with us

Its is indeed good to have some extra security ....
Its is an indicators that the steemit devs take the user's security very seriously and are not willing to let Scammers run freely around. ..leaving gullible users at their mercy...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18