Mixed Rewards - SBD + STEEM + Steem Power - Are Back Again!

in #steemit7 years ago

A combination of lowering the price of SBD back towards the peg, and lowering of the printing rate of the SBD generated a consequence that I'm expecting for quite some time (and I also wrote about it a few times recently): rewards are now mixed: SBD + STEEM + Steem Power.


Screen Shot 2018-03-18 at 10.47.53 PM.png


Thanks to @unacomn who made me aware of this. As you can see, the STEEM rewards aren't on par with the SBD rewards just yet.

As the printing rate of SBD will go even lower, the STEEM percentage in rewards will increase up to the intended ratio: 25% SBD + 25% STEEM + 50% Steem Power.

Steem On!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

For tax purposes this generates confusion and additional burden. Do we generate less tax liability if we set Steem to give 100% of rewards as Steem Power? Otherwise now we have the burden of trying to account for Steem and SBD for tax purposes.

tax?? I don't understand, Do we pay taxes for steem/sbd generation?

We do have to pay tax but I'm not sure exactly how because there is no clarity from the IRS. I just know something has to be paid. For sure SBD is income because it's liquid, and Steem if liquid is also income because you can sell it on an exchange.

I don't know what Steem Power is from a tax perspective and it seems no one really does.

So you're saying this chart is no longer correct and we are going to be getting half STEEM in the chart where it now says SBD, with only half the SBD we used to get? But the amount of SP we get will be as shown?

Yes, the amount of SBD will be as shown, only the liquid part will be modified. I will try to update that page with the current algorithm, but I may be slow, I'm in some sort of a holiday (or I should be).

Thanks for the clarification.

You're welcome, thanks for the heads up!

the printing rate of SBD will go even lower, the STEEM percentage in rewards will increase up to the intended ratio: 25% SBD + 25% STEEM + 50% Steem Power.

Owk let me get something straight if we get a payout of 25% steem and 25% sbd will curation rewards still apply? And what will the conversion of sbd to steem be like, I guess It would be more expensive to get steem with the sbd since the price of steem will go higher than sbd eventually and sbd pegged at $1.

25% SBD + 25% STEEM + 50% Steem Power -> this is calculated after you take out the curation rewards, it's just what the author receives.

I just found that out too! Wonder why this is so? Either way more liquidity for all! Thanks.

What is the positive implications of these changes

You will get more STEEM directly from your posts, without proxying it through SBD.

Thanks but i read a post from somewhere saying that the steem we received on a post is based on the number of comments we make on a post. Still trying to prove that fact

Not sure that will generate more coins, since Steem is calculated dividing by its market price

Hmmm. I know you wrote about this before @dragosroua but I'm just gong to trust you that this is good news. 😁

I need more SP. I hope it starts working soon.

What percentage is SBD right now? Still 37.5%?

The intended ratio is 50% liquid (out of which 25% should be SBD and 25% should be STEEM) and 50% locked (meaning Steem Power). This is of course calculated from what you are left after you give away the curation rewards - 25% of the entire payout.

The percentage of liquid SBD / STEEM will come back to its intended ratio if all witnesses will have a price feed bias at 0% all over again.

I mean right now. Is it then like 48% SBD out of the rewards, 2% in Steem and 50% in SP before the changes come into full effect?

The percentage of liquid SBD / STEEM will come back to its intended ratio if all witnesses will have a price feed bias at 0% all over again.

With this, does it mean that when steem rises, sbd will rise as well on equall notes . For instance sbd and steem being at $3 or $4 or $5

According to the WP, SBD is supposed to be pegged down to something so that it can serve as a proper currency and not as stock like most cryptocurrencies, so no, it will stay at $1 if Witnesses get their pegging to be successful.

I saw this today but didn't really know what was happening 😂
Good to know

Quite interesting, I had no idea, thanks for the info.

The positive thing about this crash is that it is a good moment to get SP and Steem for long term. At some point prices will recover.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82