How Low The STEEM Price Is, Anyway?

in #steemit6 years ago

At the moment of writing, STEEM is trading at 22.7k satoshis:


Screen Shot 2018-03-17 at 11.25.14 PM.png


Exactly one year ago, on March 17 2017, STEEM was trading at 8.8k satoshis, 2.5 times lower than today:


Screen Shot 2018-03-17 at 11.24.59 PM.png


The first major STEEM rally started at the end of April last year, when STEEM reached 30k satoshis.

I write this to put things in perspective a bit. STEEM didn't lose much, compared with Bitcoin. As a matter of fact, STEEM is still 2.5 times more valuable in Bitcoin than it was an year ago.

STEEM all time high, in Bitcoin, was on June 9, 2017, when it reached 96.9k satoshis (more than 4 times its current value):


Screen Shot 2018-03-17 at 11.25.56 PM.png


And that if we don't take into account STEEM all time high on July 2016, when it reached as high as 653k satoshis (but, allegedly, that price was very speculative, since it was immediately after launch and everybody started to dump after that).

Just saying...


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

I haven’t checked in for a few days and I came back to this , quite scary indeed

I appreciate the perspective. I've been thinking about buying the last few days, but keep stopping myself because I don't want my portfolio too out of balance, and I already have more STEEM than anything else. But the prices now are really attractive. The one thing though is the worry that it could go a lot lower. And with the mess on Poloniex apparently still pulling prices down, with no end in sight, it makes me wait. Good to realize that it is still so far ahead of BTC in appreciation over the last year. A recent post from @ilyastarar (that won him 1st place in Tim's most recent STEEM shilling contest) also highlights that STEEM is the most used blockchain by far. This and much more points to a relatively strong coin within an overall depressed market. But the extra Poloniex issue may be a big problem.

Hopefully not much lower. Unfortunately, the market appears to be headed in such a direction. Though when put into perspective it doesn't really seem so bad. All I know is I'll continue to keep steeming on. I've become addicted to the stories I've read on here and connections I've made and continue to look forward to things that will come of steemit.

A week ago I commented in your post that I thought that steem was very low and it was a good time to buy for long term. Well, it has gone down even more ...

Yes, it's another perspective hence it is not relaxing for me. I joined Steemit on the top in January and I invested euros in my account. So I have to hodl... :-) But you're right, it's matter of viewpoints...

"STEEM didn't lose much, compared with Bitcoin. As a matter of fact, STEEM is still 2.5 times more valuable in Bitcoin than it was an year ago."

I think that's a good point. Really puts the losses in context of the market.

You should know since you are the one who is sending the price down.

Oh wait, I wasnt suppose to reveal that....damn I can never keep a secret. 😁

I know when the bottom is...when there are more buyers for an extended period then sellers.

I make the same thoughts about the total crypto market cap.

I mean, I admit it's small, less than half of what it was around Christmas, but the current level is about the same as it was in September.

And what about Steem? I'm not worrying for it :P SMTs are approaching, DTube is more popular than ever, and Steemit is one of the 1000 most visited websites of the internet.

I discovered Steemit.com on June 20, 2017.

I bought Steem at 1.62
Then at 1.40,
Then at 1.20,
Then at 1.14,
Then at 1.00,finally I got some at 0.96

Right now I would buy Steem if I had how.

When BTC started to fall I took refuge at Steem

Steem is the BTC of the poor

I think it will go down a little more, before it goes up, I sold a little at the 4,5 dollar mark about two months ago, and are holding out a little longer before I hopefully can buy a couple of hundred Steem to power up for 2019 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36