A STEEM Spike That's Not Generated By An SBD Pump? There You Go :)

in #steemit6 years ago

At the moment of writing, STEEM posted an almost 10% increase in price, if we are to believe this Upbit screenshot (and I ave no reasons to doubt it, since it's me who took it, a few seconds ago):


Screen Shot 2018-04-07 at 9.33.13 PM.png


We can see the increase more clearly on Bittrex:


Screen Shot 2018-04-07 at 9.33.18 PM.png


I wouldn't hold my breath over it, though, as the volume is very, very low.

Still, nice to see a STEEM increase with almost 10% while SBD rose only 3%. STEEM price decoupling from SBD would be a sign of health, from my point of view.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

10% recovery is good but we need much more stability in the Steem prices....

When SBD spikes way higher than Steem, what is that a sign of? People selling for SBD, or something else?

it's a sign of SBD being pumped - or "taken for a ride". There is no reason for SBD to trade higher than $1 other than short term speculation.

My question is, just what is being speculated here? When SBD is pumped, aside from profit, what else is occurring? It's a debt instrument, right? So what makes it more attractive an investment than STEEM? Is there a higher return somehow?

Indeed :)

I noticed it yesterday as I've started buying small amounts every day and the orders didn't fill up.

Maybe it will stick, who knows :)

Price pays. It is better to be up then down ;) Thanks.

I wouldn't hold my breath over it, though, as the volume is very, very low.

A blend mix of optimism and pessimism, the whole world is waiting on steem. As hodler, I hope that arrival of SMT will push it back and beyond record ATH. SMT, c'mmon real quick!

This increase puts a smile of hope and assurance of a better future with steem on my face. It’s actually a joy from within , 10% is something we look everyday if possible... I mean 10% increase of the previous increase in the ascending order

Always rooting for that divergence!

Although Koreans are well known for inflating the prices of cryptocurrencies, the positive of all this is that STEEM is being known by many more people.

May be the reason Indians moving their money from bitcoin to steem.

Theres much hope for steem..lets just keep steeming and then power up.thanks for this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57864.58
ETH 2697.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21