A Short Overview Of The Average Attention Span Of The Average User On Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 2.08.12 PM.png


The screenshot above was taken less than a minute ago. As you can see, although there is a clear link pointing to the request of the user, it looks like the commenter didn't even bother to go over it. The fact that the comment is borderline spammy and completely unrelated to the topic is irrelevant here.

I'm also not posting this in order to cast a value judgement: "is the comment bad or good?", nothing like this.

I'm posting this to make other Steemians understand what's the average attention span of the average user on Steemit. Probably, the prospect of making some quick bucks with this token is overtaking the more balanced approach to just look at the links and try to understand how this thing work, before even engaging in it.

That's the reason I took the time (3 seconds, actually) to copy and paste the exact same link to the commenter.

I just hope this will raise his or her attention span with at least 10%. There's so much good stuff to be found here, on Steemit, besides the potential - and very useful, don't get me wrong - digital income.

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

This thing is happening everywhere on steemit !
Every newbie is following this thing to get votes , but its ok and we should help them so that they can moderate their learnings !

That's right, some people make useless comments just for visibility. I like constructive comments that bring something new, that generates discussion. I wish you a wonderful and successful day in your work!

steemit has been the first site i open in the mornin over twitter and email, that speaks volumes itself.

I see two, possibly unrealistic expectations.
One. They actually bother to read....I've had the exact thing happen many times. The post I wrote EXPLICITLY answered the question they asked. This caused me to wonder if they COULD read? Perhaps they are chat-bots?

Two..attention span. They ain't got none. Television killed the art of conversation...social media drove nails in it's coffin. I've noticed that many people can't focus longer than a soundbyte...

Oddly enough...at the moment I'm attempting to arrange a 'visit' with my son his family in a venue AWAY from electronic distractions (Tv and computer) so we can, like..ya know...VISIT!

I'm encountering resistance...

AWAY from electronic distractions

Lol! Good luck with that!

Recently, I made a what-if speculation regarding the grid going down forever. I received a 'heads down in the phone screen' we'll adjust...

Lol...ha!...sure...

I imagine a lot of people wouldn't survive a week. It could be a strange means of depopulation...kinda' like the stock-market crash of '29. Let's pray not; but, definitely something to think about. Today's new addiction is the 'smart' phone.

Peace.

You do realise this post will get a lot of the same "spammy" comments? .... the irony :)))

taken from my meme posting account @cmmemes

Many people are rushing to comment and do not even read the post. It is frustrating. I also do not like unrelated comments. If I had received this comment I would have told him to read carefully because the answer is in the post.

P.S: I voted for you as a witness :)

Thank you for your support, appreciate it! :)

"average attention span" is pretty meaningless. It's very much task-dependent. How much attention we apply to a task will vary depending on what the task demand is ... the idea that there's a typical length of time for which people can pay attention to even that one task has also been debunked.

I do agree that some people here on steemit pay less attention to the post and focus more on what they can earn rather than learn. They tries to maximize their time on each post, sometimes speed reading it to the point of only reading the title. haha

To further your discussion there are a lot of steemians who upvote their own comments. So double whammy. Not only do some not read post they give themselves credit for not reading. Iol. (I can see even in this post there are some that upvote their own comments.)

Imagine now steemit has no initial fees to creating a steemit account and millions join. This type of spamming I fear will only get worse before it gets better. Apologies for the negative vibe, just being realistic here. Thanks.

I so much agree with you as most comment steemians make are irrelevant to the post they are commenting on as they don't actually read the post but wants to earn from it.

I believe this stems from an issue with the steemit platform itself - visibility is crucial so being early on the stage is important. Often, this will lead to people making generic comments and not looking at the content. As such, typical comments on any post will just say 'Thanks'. There's nothing inherently wrong with this but it provides little to any discussion and is also made redundant because an upvote delivers the same message.

As the system matures further, I'm sure this will stop being an issue.

As the system matures further, I'm sure this will stop being an issue.

Let's hope so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60410.66
ETH 2598.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62