22 Hours Before The End Of Voting On Netcoins Contest, STEEM Leads With 1,000 Votes

in #steemit6 years ago

I just casted my vote on the Netcoins contest a couple of minutes ago, only to realize it's the last time I can do that, there are less than 22 hours until the vote endings. Here's how the top looked like at the moment of my voting:


Screen Shot 2018-10-20 at 11.57.34 AM.png


If nothing really massive happens, I think we can win this.

What To Expect If STEEM Wins?

First of all, I don't think we should expect a sudden surge in the price. Calibrating our expectations is important. So I don't see STEEM going to the moon immediately. But I do see it more popular, more visible, and, if merchants will really adopt it, I see it used more and more as a means of exchange, which, at the end of the day, is all that matters. There's no need to exchange STEEM for Bitcoin and then buy fiat so you can buy things, if you can just buy things with STEEM. It's a no brainer for me.

Second, I think this would be the first big event that showed the potential of the STEEM community. A real community is much more than the number of the accounts on a platform. We may have 250,000 accounts interacting daily with the platform, but a community is defined by so much more than just sheer numbers. It's defined by a common goal, by common values, by the capacity to organize and act in a coordinated way, and so on and so forth. These characteristics are hard to build and slow to develop. In my personal experience, it takes anything between 3 and 5 years to actually form a real community. The good news is that, once you have a real community, its inertia is very strong and it can continue to survive for years autonomously, just feeding itself from its own actions. So we're just at the beginning here. For me, this is really promising.

And third, I think we should expect to go back to our "business as usual routine", posting, voting and interacting like we always do. SMTs are just around the corner, HF20 is slowly filling its self-created cracks and new accounts are getting created in a more selective way each day.

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Got my last vote in

Have to wait and see for illegal votes to get cancelled.
A tremendous community effort nonetheless.
In case of winning what this community will get is at least a taste of victory, which will be important in coming days..

Have to wait and see for illegal votes to get cancelled.

I have sadly seen some Steem users promote the use of IP spoofers, multiple e-mails etc. to gain extra vote, so we might actually lose some votes if these are found out about. I think Verge might have been doing this as well, so hopefully it won't be a big problem for us once these votes are removed.

I just gave it my final vote. Now there's only waiting left to do, and hope we are able to keep the lead we have on Verge.

finalvote.jpg

Even if the price goes up, the true value of the platform won't. I find it hard to grasp how while the #netcoins thing get so much attention just so STEEM price might get inflated a tiny bit, the big thing now that could pump the intrinsic value of the platform, #googleplus going belly up in nine months, millions of googleplus refugees looking where to move their communities get zero. If we let this thing blow over, any bump in price now will be blown away by steemit becoming some wannabe, maybe MeWe, as that currently seems to be where much of the G+ communities are gravitating towards.

If you guys can rally up 10k users to go vote for STEEM just for artificial inflation potential, how about using that same leverage to do some STeemit advocating on G+, and getting some quick Dev work happening on the steemit frontend to implement a Google Takeout compatible groups/communities feature?

millions of googleplus refugees looking where to move their communities

With all due respect, G+ never had that many active users. It never really took off, that's why it closes in the first place, because it didn't have users.

Whereas this #netcoins thing may act in at least two directions:

  • raise the awareness about the existence of the STEEM, with all its economical advantages (zero transaction fees, fast transfers, etc)
  • raise the awareness about a social media community which uses this token

G+ userbase is smallish for a Google product, small compared Facebook, but at 2M..10M active users (depending on who you ask and what definition of 'active' you use), G+ seems to be about two orders of magnitude bigger than steemit currently is. G+ tends to have higher quality and longer posts compared to for example FB, a decent match for steemit IMO. I think good content in the end defines the intrincic value of the platform, and the #googleplus crowd could make huge contributions to that IMO, if the platform could manage to role out groups quickly and we can find a way to pull in and fund (delegate to) a good percentage of those 2M..10M users.

Verge just slipped ahead again. I have posted about this again and voted again. Come on guys, we can do this!

Look again :-(

Posted using Partiko Android

Strange that in just 8 hours they somehow got around 2,000 more votes than Steem. That's quite the jump. It looks like we have our work cut out for us today. I just have one vote left to cast in a few hours.

This is a very big achievement to both steem and Steemian, and to @ned too.

Steem to the moon.
Am glad we all made it.

Posted using Partiko Android

We didn't make it. Yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54