2016 Steemit Recap: Statistics, Lessons, Conclusions after 90 Days

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


I joined Steemit on October 3rd, 2016. That will make exactly 89 days until today. Let's make it 90, I like round numbers.

We're just one day before the end of the year, so I thought it's a good moment to do some stats, pick up some lessons and draw some conclusions.

Statistics

  • 700 posts - most of them are comments. I estimate I have around 100 root posts (articles)
  • 238 followers
  • 8.715 Steem Power
  • 67.7 reputation
  • 51st position as a backup witness

According to SteemWhales.com I am on the 808th place overall for Steem Power.

I think it's better to let you analyze those numbers. I will focus on the lessons learned below.

Lessons

  • As always, consistency pays out. My first writing project on Steemit was a 30 days challenge which, after a week, made me visible to curation projects like @curie. That was a good starting point. I recommend to all new Steemit users to commit for at least 30 ays to the platform if they want to have enough data for pondering if this is a good option for them or not.

  • Again, learn and deploy multiple skills is a mantra that served me well. As a witness on Steemit you need to master skills from many areas: server administration, inter-personal communication, coding, auditing, business development, financials. Of course, if you decide to become a witness you can delegate some of them and focus only on what you know to do, but it's always better to have all the skills "on yourself", it gives a much clearer image.

  • Pay it forward does pay it quite fast. I recommended the platform to many friends and some of them became regulars. Among them my life and business partner @raluca, who is on her own 30 days challenge now, but also many others. So, by recommending the platform to other people you contribute directly to the quality of the content and to the overall wellbeing of all people involved. And you make money. Directly.

Conclusions

For the last 90 days I spent, on average, 2-3 hours per day on Steemit. The ROI has been significant. There is a financial part of the ROI, that can be seen instantly (I think I withdrew around $150 in total so far) but there is also a part related to knowledge and experience. These 90 days "forced" me to acquire new skills and to deploy them and that will serve me well, whether or not Steemit, as an experiment, will continue to grow.

Inspired by Steemit I decided it's time to finally launch my cryptocurrency project, named Hubcoin. A first experiment has been initiated on the NXT blockchain and it's under active development. This crypto aims at mapping processes visible in pico-economies, like hubs or guilds. After 2 and a half years of running a hub, I identified quite a few processes and I have a few use cases already in place. Right now, Hubcoin is just a rewarding points layer, but if the feedback is good, and if Connect Hub will take over as a franchise, there will be a potential for making Hubcoin fungible and open it for trading outside of the initial community.

One very important thing that needs to be mentioned here is the HF16 moment. After hardfork 0.16.0, Steemit economy changed dramatically, in my opinion in a good way. We're still early in it, but the signs are rather positive and I'm not talking only about the price. The entire community seems to be heading in a clearer direction. I'm really looking forward to the roadmap that has been announced for the beginning of 2016.

All in all, I consider Steemit a successful experiment. Here's why:

  1. Steem has a market cap of around $35 million dollars, putting it in the 8th position among all cryptocurrencies. That's very relevant.
  2. The community has around 1.000 - 1.500 members active every day. While this is much lower than the official number of accounts, around 115.000, it's still a good number.
  3. There is a significant number of apps already built on top of the blockchain. I will mention @greymass Reprint project, which "pulls" your content from Steemit and makes it available on other platforms, like blogs, and @busy busy.org project, along with SteemConnect, which has the biggest potential for growth. There are many more, of course, but those were the most important for me.
  4. The price of Steem has been consistently between $0.37 and $0.10 since October, even after the new changes in economy. The fact that after the shortening of power down, from 104 weeks to 13 weeks, we didn't see too much of a selling, means the major stakeholders are not interested yet to sell, only to increase their liquidity. I will speculate that they are waiting for an increase in price in order to get rid of their Steem, which can also mean they are still trusting the platform. Please be aware that's just speculation.

All these are reasons to mark Steemit as a "successful experiment".

But in order for it to grow form the "experiment" stage to the "mature" stage there is still a lot of work to be done.

And that work has to be done by all the people in the ecosystem, since we are all literally owning shares in Steemit.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

"..And that work has to be done by all the people in the ecosystem, since we are all literally owning shares in Steemit."

I could not agree more. Great post. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and tweeted. Stephen

https://twitter.com/StephenPKendal/status/814788222115053569

Thanks. It takes a while to change that mindset of "I am free to write whatever I want, since you sell my attention to advertisers anyway and I don't get a dime" to "Everything I write and do affects directly my revenue and indirectly this platform, because I am part of it". But, given enough time and a bit of luck, it will happen :)

Shared your reply on twitter. I hope you don't mind. Spreading a little awareness about STEEMIT. Every little helps. Stephen

I don't mind, on the contrary. A bit of attribution would have helped, but it's ok, what counts is the message, not the sender, in this case :)

You get a mention, it just didn't fit on the screen shot. Thanks again for the reply. Stephen

Here is the full tweet.
https://twitter.com/StephenPKendal/status/814792858746159104

Like I said, it's ok anyway, the message is important, not the sender. I do appreciate though that you included the whole screenshot. Happy New Year :)

StephenPKendal Stephen P Kendal tweeted @ 30 Dec 2016 - 11:18 UTC

"Everything I write & do affects directly my revenue & indirectly this platform, because I am part of it"!! @STEEMIT https://t.co/BYBkQ0jr7e

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

StephenPKendal Stephen P Kendal tweeted @ 30 Dec 2016 - 11:00 UTC

2016 Steemit Recap: Statistics, Lessons, Conclusions after 90 Days..!! @Steemit

steemit.com/steemit/@drago… / https://t.co/NsVpTNWmaP

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

I am in agreement with your conclusions. Looks like the power users are in it for the long haul. Great post

Thank you and wishing all the luck to you too :)

Can you tell us more about the greymass reprint project?

AFAIK, @jesta is one of the main contributors. I don't know if the project is out of beta, I know they did a test blog for @charlieshrem, but other than that, not too much. The github repository for @greymass is here: https://github.com/greymass

I fully agree with you Dragos. And for the record, I did vote for you as a witness.

For the record, thank you :)

Congrats on your success these past 90 days!

I am interested in hearing more about your Hubcoin project, and hubs in general; I have no idea what they are. :-)

Happy New Year!

Thanks!

A hub is a co-working place, with offices for rent, usually in open space. The idea behind the concept is to mingle and network, in order to join competencies. There are many flavors of hubs, Connect Hub is a generalist one, meant to bring together freelancers and entrepreneurs from any areas. We have public speaking coaches, e-commerce consultants, small social media shops, coders, etc.

Hubcoin is a way to map activities in these communities on a currency. For instance, when someone wants to book a small 30 minutes talk with another resident, they can pay for that time with 10 HUBCN. Inside the community the tokens can be used to buy vouchers or other stuff. At this level, it works like a classic fidelity reward points system. But if it starts to get adoption, it may be traded just like Steem or Bitcoin.

Brilliant, thanks for this info. I can see the value of co-working in a hub. The Hubcoin can help facilitate certain transactions. Best wishes on your projects in the new year!

Thank you! Best wishes to you too! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58439.16
ETH 2965.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69