10 Robots Pulling A Truck Uphill - Sorry, I Didn't Find A Better Title For This Video

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)


Here comes your regular dose of fun from Boston Dynamics. According to the description of this video, posted yesterday on YouTube (and closing to almost 1 million views already) it only takes 10 SpotPower robots, or SP, to pull a truck in neutral, on a 1 degree uphill road.

According to the same description, these SPs are built on a regular basis and already available for sale, "for a large range of applications".

Speaking strictly about this application, I can see a not-so-distant future in which we will denominate the power of a car engine not in horse power, but in SP power. So, if a Ferrari is now capable of 350 HP, soon he will be measure this in SPP.

Just saying...


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Cool thing

Posted using Partiko Android

Side bar story. Just last weekend when I was at my local grocery and shopping near closing time. There were robots moving goods and putting products on the shelves. While another robot was cleaning the floor for the night. For a few seconds I felt I was in the future. Good grief. Not use to it just yet.

Where exactly was that? Sounds like the future indeed :)

I live in Massachusetts, USA. The grocery store is stop & shop. You can google stories on it. I think the stores using these robots are partly to blame why the employees of the grocery chain is on strike. This is really interesting witness in person as the fear of robot replacing people is literally happening before my eyes.

By the way link below is somewhat obsolete as the store I was in the robot was able to clean the floor and didn't have to call an employee to clean it. Crazy....

https://boston.cbslocal.com/2019/01/16/grocery-store-robot-marty-giant-stop-and-shop-seekonk-massachusetts/amp/

When I first heard sp, my mind first goes to the steemit sp. Maybe because I am too sok in steemit

Those would be awesome for Cyber Santa Claus. Do they come in red?

hey man, I've been away from steemit for a good long while, any updates on runcoin ?

Funny you ask this, I'm looking into steem-engine for putting it together, but I'm still studying it.

thanks for the info, I thought SMTs will be out by now and we could enjoy runcoin.

Hey, @dragosroua.

I have to hand it to the folks at Boston Dynamics. They make some of the most fascinating robots which leads to amazing videos. However, if by SPP you mean robots pulling trucks, I feel like that would be a step backwards. :)

However, if the truck was driving itself and the robot power was somehow running it on the inside, that could be cool. :)

I guess I need to find out how much these puppies go for and just what other applications they have. I mean, if they can weed flower and garden beds, replace fence, wash dishes and do laundry, I might be in the market for one. :)

if they can weed flower and garden beds, replace fence, wash dishes and do laundry, I might be in the market for one.

You really made me laugh there, do all those? That's no more a robot, that an Irobot, you remember the movie.

Hey, @ghenghisla.

Glad you laughed. As much as I would love for some robot labor to take over my chores, we're just not quite there yet, which is fine, because I think we go from that straight to the robot apocalypse people seem to be worried about. :)

And yes, I do remember that movie. I like it a lot. Programming and engineering robots to do specific tasks, and only those tasks, is one thing, and something I would generally be okay with. Giving them the ability to think—I don't know. I think the line needs to be drawn before that. :)

Very cool for me. I enjoy burning my data just viewing what robots can do in farm settings and all and can't stop imagining what the future holds.

...

PS: The tag should be #video not #viedeo I guess.

Thanks for the heads up, I corrected that typo.

I want surprised a bit having a little bit knowledge of science, the car is at rest.

To really surprise me, the truck has to be on full speed while the robot pulls it in the other direction backward. Then, you have my attention.

That thing is not gonna stop robots coming to rule early than expected hahah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95