The true value of steemit

in #steemit8 years ago


I'll start this post of by asking a few simple questions... what is the value of steemit...? Is it the money we receive? Is it the information? Is it sharing your interests with others?

What is the answer to these questions


Well to be honest the answer all depends on you and what you are seeking from steemit. Reading through many posts from many different people, one can see that their main focus is on how to improve blogging, tips on what to blog about. Most blogs are centred on making money, getting the most votes... have we missed the mark by our own greed for money... have we been blinded to the greatness of steemit by the hunt for money...? I was once told that money can save a person but in the same breath it can destroy a person as well. I might still be young, but I am willing to learn, I am hungry for information and starving to find out how things work and why these things work that way.

My answer

Before I tell you my version of what steemit means to me, I want to share a little bit of my experience first being introduced to this site. My father had been on for a while now and one weekend showed me his account and some of the posts. ALL I SAW WAS $ EVERYWHERE and A LOT of them. I immediately thought of how much money I can make and I am sure many of us had the same thoughts. I had a huge plan on how to make as much money as I can, I was going to try make as much as possible as many others are trying right now. I was blinded by greed... blinded by the hunt for money... 3 days ago I read a post, it was really good had amazing content and all the information I needed at that time for something which I had been searching for. 2 days later I thought back to it after reading a post on how to blog together to make blogs better to make more money and get more votes. Last night lying in my bed I thought about what steemit is and realised I am missing the true mark, the true value of steemit. The true value of steemit to me isn't the amount of money which I can make but what I can learn from it, which can help me grow as a person and teach me new things which I had never known of before. I hope that we all stop and think about what steemit means to you.

What is the true value of steemit...

That I leave to you to decide...

#life #money #philosophy #steem

Sort:  

Upvoted you

The true value of steem is it's ability to bring zero cost transactions to the point of transaction initiation. This means that there is a very low barrier to entry that the extremely efficient and scalable blockchain tech can be put to. Then there is the fact that the communications cannot be censored nor the system easily subverted.....the rules will continue to protect the users and will only adapt in favor of a democratic consensus. Steem can provide all sorts of value....the accumulation of intellectual capital, exchange of ideas, value transmission, store of productivity, trade mechanism, etc etc and it can do it for any community or communities at whatever scale, anywhere i the world where a population has power and access to the internet. Nothing like this has ever existed and in my mind the potential is limitless. In the future, everything could be Steem powered.

i fully agree with you, the potential of steemit is great and everyday it surprises me with all the new content and posts on things that are happening and that could happen. Thank you for your replies

i hope that everyone sees the opportunities that steemit has to offer, that it will offer in the future too. Steemit could become revolutionary in the near future

Very nice post, the value of steemit is high at this moment! Keep up the great content cheers m8t!

Information sharing and learning should be the biggest value of steemit. it's a different model and that is a good thing.

I am also guilty of initially seeing Steemit as an opportunity to make some money, and it certainly is. BUT. I has become quickly obvious to me that if you want to make money here you better be prepared to provide some quality information to the community. I am glad to see stuff that is blatantly hyping another "click to cash in" come on going nowhere.

I have not yet introduced myself but when I do I will be championing some causes that are, in my eyes, in need of exposure to the masses for the benefit of many.

I hope to engage the Steemit community in my mission to educate and inform about these causes.

Carry on,
Bharper

Go for it I will be looking out for your posts

@dragonslayer109 the true meaning of success is not about how much money we are making but how much value we create for others as well as how much better the world is becoming with our action :) Thank you for sharing your very constructive view. Love it :)

thank you i am glad you enjoyed it

This steemit thing is so weird. Am new to it (2 days), had never been on Facebook or Twitter, was attracted to this site just by the vision of making money. Spent a sleepless night imagining how much that would be. Then after two days and 13 written items or how many I haven´t earned a single dollar, haha. Did that calm me down? I have been thinking about my hidden exhibitionism that needs my greed as an alibi not to be ashamed of itself. And I am hoping to find some balanced attitude to this all. Weird, weird steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57254.26
ETH 2887.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60