You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemians: Are You Empowered or Entitled?

in #steemit8 years ago

This is mostly in regards to Steemit, but this is not suggesting circumstances don't come about that are out of our control. It's about the mindset and approach to life that says, "I choose to believe I have control over my outcomes, and I can handle whatever comes my way." That mindset is key to being able to make a negative into a positive, or being able to dodge unsavory circumstances. And only years of living in BOTH of these mindsets at varying times taught me that.

Sort:  

Regardless of mind set, some negatives are and continue to be negatives. Also, some negatives require that one is able to expend a large amount of resources to turn it into a positive. Failing to be able to do these things and rightfully blaming those responsible does not make someone less empowered, generally speaking.

I would never have anything to disagree with on that front. This post stands on a point outside of that entirely. Negative things will happen, some people are not good to have in your life. It doesn't change the choice to have a certain approach to that, nor does it alter the fact that people who have experienced both approaches over many years found life improved significantly with the empowered approach, just as mine did.

@suprepachyderm Your phrase "rightfully blaming" got me thinking whether there is such a thing as "rightful blame," so thank you for this comment. Ultimately, I did not come up with any rationalization for blame, so I'm curious to hear more about your thoughts on that. You can find my post here regarding whether blame has a place in an empowered mind:

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@healthyhappyhigh/is-there-room-for-blame-in-an-empowered-mindset

Thanks for the original post @dragonanarchist !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49