Why I think Steemit will Fail.

in #steemit7 years ago

Where do I even start, I have been using Steemit for a while now and I have always tried to stay positive about where the site was going and how it will grow, however after spending the time I have on the site I just don't think it will become the level of other big social media sites.

So before I really get into this let me just say I personally hope Steemit does become a lot bigger than it does today as there is a lot to love about not just the sight but also the community of users. Also I'm not the most knowledgeable about all things crypto but I don't think that should come into play to much in this post.

Money

To start of with how steemit is advertised. I'm sure you have all seen the "talk about what ever you want and get paid to do it" advertisement however it really isn't that simple.

First of all the likely hood of you making any money as soon as you start isn't very high which immediately will turn people away from the site if they have been told they can make money straight away. Also a lot of people aren't into crypto currency so they won't have any knowledge of it further than knowing that bitcoin is a thing, so when people actually start to get any amount of money from posting they might not realize it is a lot of hassle to get your "money" into actually money in your hands.

I think this is a major issue with the site that cant be changed, because for the most part people that get paid online want it to be simple and easy (ie. straight into their bank or getting a check in the post) Also a lot of people will get turned away by not just the effort of actually getting money but the numerous cuts that get taken out of your money through all the transfers you have to go through.

User friendliness

In all honesty Steemit is not user friendly for the average person who doesn't spend a huge amount of time online, or similar sites, it really isn't that easy to navigate you way around, Of course you have the main pages however they are very cluttered and full of all types of things. Then in the specific tag section it only shows popular tags and you can't really search for the tag you are looking for.

This brings me onto the actual search bar, I don't think it makes things as easy as you would like to find and it just really doesn't look that good.

Before you even fully get to the sight you have to sign up, and the process of signing up in my opinion is quite frankly stupid, not everyone wants to sign up through facebook and then if you want to sign up through reddit you have to have a certain amount of karma which I think is just not necessary , also a lot of people might have reddit but just be lurkers. Also why can you not just sign-up without having to have an account on another sight.

Look

I don't want to talk to much about what the sight looks like because I don't think there is much needed as I'm sure most of you will agree that the sight as a whole feels like it lacks enthusiasm.

I don't quit know what to title this section but I think that its hard to really understand the site and a lot of the top posts if you don't know about crypto currency and then if you don't want to learn then it may feel like you don't have a place on the site, also there is the often talked about issues of steemit chat and how it is really just bad. One last thing, WHERE IS A REAL APP, you need to have an app in todays world.

So that is it from me sort of rant over, if I am wrong in anything I am saying please correct me, I would also love to hear what everyone else has to say about the current issues with steemit. Thanks for reading.

Last thing there is probably a lot of grammatical errors and spelling mistakes , sorry I wrote this quickly and just want to post it now also I probably forgot a few things but I think you get the idea. I might do a part 2 who knows.

Sort:  

I am new here and I just wrote my first post which says something different to yours. I hope it all changes.
The Peter Principle, Ortega y Gasset and the Self-Determination of Steemit
I voted and am following you and hope to learn from you more.

I just took a look at your post and It definitely gives another perspective on things and seems very well informed, Thanks for the follow, I followed back and look forward to seeing what else you post!

One last thing, WHERE IS A REAL APP, you need to have an app in todays world.

No, you don't have to. Having a real app is only needed when you need access to sensors which are only available from a native app.

Websites are able to show notifications and Steemit doesn't need any other data. If location was to be used, they could just ask for it.

Of course you need an app; however the Steemit heirarchy seem to be more interested in petty squabbles and meaningless updates than actually marketing the site to try and take it to the next level.

I'm afraid you're right, Steemit is dying a slow death; however another competitor will come along and do it better, don't forget Facebook came after Myspace paved the way. I think a similar thing will happen with Steemit.

Cg

Have you tried to visit Facebook from a mobile browser? It works much better, although they don't like to provide native notifications (so you must use the native app, although you don't need it as you have access to exactly the same content).

Mobile web-app doesn't keep any background service running so much less battery draining.

The same applies to Twitter, Youtube or Google+. But their native apps are not as bad as Facebook one.

Future will not be native but web. I didn't like the idea, but today I am a big deffendant of it.

I don't use FB on my phone, however everyone I know who does; uses the Messenger app. The future maybe web, but now is app.

Cg

Oh! I forgot about that. Native Facebook app forces you to download another app, the Messenger to chat. That means having lots more redundant code on their devices.

Facebook has not disabled the access to chats from their mobile site, yet. So: you have both content by the same prices and still are able to save disk space.

I get more that 1 gigabyte after uninstalling both of them.

I didn't say that it's any good; simply that it exists and lots of people use it, that's the point.

Cg

Do you still feel the same way about Steemit 11 months later?

Are you still using Steemit and have you got answer that how the money is coming in system to pay this to all of us ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39