Things i'm grateful for on Steemit today (well yesterday, technically speaking)

in #steemit7 years ago

I grew up in Scotland and I remember a time when my uncle and his family were home visiting from Canada. One day we all took a trip out to the forth road bridge near Edinburgh, because it was one of the best sights around – kind of like a smaller version of the Golden Gate bridge in San Fransisco.

I remember running across the bridge with my cousin, way ahead of our parents with my cousin, thinking that the old folks were really slow and that we were fabulous! Now I haven't been in Scotland for 10 or so years and today I find out from @mindhunter that there's a new forth road bridge that I wasn’t even aware of !!@??? See:

https://steemit.com/photography/@mindhunter/the-new-queensferry-crossing-bridge---the-route-across-from-edinburgh-to-the-kingdom-of-fife--1499430018-569507#@mindhunter/re-dpol-re-mindhunter-the-new-queensferry-crossing-bridge---the-route-across-from-edinburgh-to-the-kingdom-of-fife--1499430018-569507-20170707t213653222z

I'm big into personal development and the main theme of my blog is talking about the techniques that I've learnt that have allowed me to remove subconscious programmes in order to live a freer, happier life. However, I still have a couple of issues with fear that have been holding me back in my work and making things harder than they ought to be. Today I found a post from @steemed-open that's introduced me to book that may provide a way of thinking that might just be the learning I need to get me past these issues. See:

https://steemit.com/life/@steemed-open/dear-shonda-rhimes#@dpol/re-steemed-open-re-dpol-re-steemed-open-dear-shonda-rhimes-20170707t215840662z

Also, I love photography, but I only have my bog standard smart phone. Now, I've still been able to take some decent shots, like these:

https://steemit.com/photography/@dpol/memory-of-summer-north-west-ireland-30-day-content-creation-challenge-day-4
https://steemit.com/photography/@dpol/throwing-sand-on-the-beach
https://steemit.com/photography/@dpol/reflection-on-the-beach
https://steemit.com/photography/@dpol/eagle
https://steemit.com/photography/@dpol/here-comes-the-sun

However, from @ejhaasteem I learned today that you can get a meta lens for your camera phone that will allow you to take close up pictures as good as this:

https://steemit.com/photography/@ejhaasteem/beautiful-purple-201777t211143357z#@ejhaasteem/re-dpol-re-ejhaasteem-re-dpol-re-ejhaasteem-beautiful-purple-201777t211143357z-20170707t182804581z

Now this information has come to me TODAY! How crazy and inspiring is that?????
In One day, I’ve learned a new thing about my home country, I have been introduced to a book that could improve my life, and I’ve learned about a technical gadget that should improve a thing that I love! How can I put into words what Steemit means to me?

The initial motivation for me joining Steemit was to earn a bit more cash and to maybe learn a bit more about alt coins, but it’s turning into something so much more. It’s turning into a platform that’s allowing me to express myself in a way that’s true, because it’s free from the fear of overt criticism and more than that, it’s turning into a sense of community that I think I’ve been craving for a long time!

Sort:  

It's great to read that you feel you are able to freely express yourself here. Steemit is truly a great community. You did learn quite a few new things in one day. I had no idea about any of those things, so I learned those three new things today at least. I am very interested in the camera lens! Thanks for posting this.

Thanks for commenting!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dpol from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65647.77
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60