The next wave of social media platforms - Steemit, Sola, onG.social,

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Based on a conversation I had with a good friend yesterday;

wave-wallpaper-12071-12454-hd-wallpapers.jpg

Facebook is no longer of interest to me and many others, the only thing that I use it for is messenger. Everything that comes up on my feed are useless videos that contain advertisements or memes. Don't get me wrong I love a good meme but that's not really my primary focus when wanting to use a social media platform.

not-sure-facebook-memes.png

I remember that in the early stages of Facebook that everyone made their own posts and statuses. You never see that anymore apart from the older generation. My friend joked that once your grandmother has joined a platform you know it's dead.

Even though Facebook is looking to implement cryptocurrency, it will never be decentralised.

Instagram is something that I enjoy using more because I like how it's a visual platform where I can share photos and videos. Recently though, there have been some changes made to Instagram for the worse in my opinion. You now see people's posts that you do not follow but others have liked on your feed. I think this is annoying, if i wanted to see that persons posts then I would follow them. I have also noticed a lot more advertising than before. I think that if Instagram continues making changes for the worse it will be replaced. Instagram is also owned by Facebook

All these current social media platforms are dying, even Youtube is not rewarding good content creators and instead has become plagued with vloggers such as Logan and Jake Paul.

I think that it's time for a new platform to disrupt the current ones. This will be a platform on the blockchain such as Steemit,Sola or onG.social, that is decentralised. A platform that rewards users for posting good content. There are many decentralised social networks but I guess we will have to see which one becomes the most successful.

Let's hope that 2018 is the year we see a big wave come through and disrupt the current platforms.

steemit.png

Follow for more - https://steemit.com/@dplus

Sort:  

I thought I was one of the few that thought the same way. Found out about steemit and saw there are a lot of us. lol. I laughed the other day when facebook asked me if I wanted to boost my post on my farm biz page for like $30. Naaa. Hahaha

We're all here because grandma is on facebook? Hahaha. Nice piece.

Hahaha i guess so. You've got a new follower :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99