You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1000 followers - another milestone reached

in #steemit7 years ago

Congrats @ksolymosi! That's a well-deserved milestone.

It will be interesting to see how you might evolve the daily brain games. It's pretty clear that you are the current gold standard for daily puzzles on Steemit -- I've seen a few others try to do something similar in a daily format, but none have come close to matching the quality and variety of puzzles that you've put together.

May your success continue, at an even faster pace than what got you here!

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for your support! Well, I am still thinking about the Brain Games, but I think the next step would be to involve more people in trying to solve them. This involves not having the answers visible to everybody (using steemchat or discord maybe).

But I am open to your suggestions if you have any. You are the absolute champion so far, so whatever you suggest will be considered! :-)

(You should read my response to @sonofsatoshi first.)

Ok, let's see what I can come up with here... we want to move the answering off-site and increase participation at the same time. That means mechanisms need to be put in place to encourage and prod people along. Got it. Here is my best guess on what to do:

(1) Increase the daily prize pool and number of daily prizes.

You don't necessarily have to boost the prize for first correct answer of the day, but you definitely can't cut the prize and expect that the general public will go out of their way to find you on Discord or Steemit.chat. Also, moving the competition over to Discord/Steemit.chat without changing the prizes will likely result in a drop in participation.

I would suggest this format: two prizes per daily competition -- a big prize for the first correct answer like normal, and a small prize awarded at random amongst all other correct answers within the first 24 hours (or if you don't want to have to crunch numbers on weekends, 72 hours for Friday's puzzle, in which case on Fridays the puzzle should be more difficult than normal).

(2) Add a monthly leaderboard and prize(s).

The goal should be obvious: give everyone something to play for, even if their chances of being first in a daily competition are really low. Participants score 1 point per puzzle answered correctly within the first 24 hours (or optionally, 72 hours for Fridays). At the end of the month, the top player(s) win prize money. In the event of a tie, the first tiebreaker should be the number of puzzles that each participant attempted to solve (i.e. the number of days that they submitted an answer, whether right or wrong), with the second tiebreaker being the number of wins during the month. If there are still tied participants after the tiebreakers, combine the awards associated with their positions and split them equally. Post and update the leaderboard once a week on Mondays, except during the final week of the month, when the leaderboard should be updated daily.

I can't really suggest a format for number of prizes and the size of those awards on the monthly leaderboard -- that you would have to experiment with and see what works.

(3) Use Discord for taking answers.

Discord seems to be most reliable amongst Steemians' popular chat services. I personally prefer the layout of steemit.chat, but it's offline or really, really slow way too often. In a contest that will rely on timestamps for determining the order of submissions, everyone needs a stable platform.

(4) If all else fails, you can always just return to the current format.

We know the current format works, and as Steemit continues to grow, will probably draw in more regular eyeballs.

So there you have it. Think it over, let me know your opinion, pick it apart if you feel the need to.

Wow, thanks a lot for the detailed explanation and the great ideas!

I totally with you on the leaderboard. It was on my list to be introduced together with some regular statistics on the results of the best players.

Also, I was thinking about giving out prizes based on long-term performance, not only based on daily solutions.

Increasing the pool is also inevitable, and I think the idea of giving money to someone sending the first correct answer plus randomly to someone else can also work.

I use Discord more often than steemit.chat, so I am happy to receive answers there.

Concerning @sonofsatoshis's idea of collecting the answers until Friday, I definitely do not want to have a weekly contest. The reason I am posting only one task per day and preferably something that does not require hours of thinking is because I wish to provide some mental stimulation. "Use it or lose it" applies to our brain cells, too - so some exercise has a very positive effect.

I also do not believe in resteems, I never saw any huge changes after my posts were resteemed or after I resteemed the posts of others. A few extra visitors here and there, that's all.

But I believe in community, so I plan to build a community around this contest. As I already have quite a few returning participants.

I also plan to have some "built-in" contests, such as puzzle-writing contests... etc.

So thanks again for the valuable thoughts. I will find time to work out the new rules and the system and return soon with more solid ideas.

@doughtaker's proposals are great, I believe. @ksolymosi, I'm getting more excited about the things you are planning to include for the Daily Brain Games in the future, especially the puzzle-writing contest. :) I'm looking forward to the next games and I hope that the community will start growing bigger soon!

I agree with @doughtaker.
The puzzles are superior to the others I’ve found on steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69