The Limit on Conversation Depth Here is Really Really Annoying!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I made my first post here yesterday, and was happy to have interesting discussion happening in the comments.

My happiness soon ended however when I noticed that some of the comments I wanted to reply to didn't have a "Reply" link under them, and I couldn't see any way to reply to that comment. So I ended up replying to the parent of that comment, but my reply ended up above the message I was attempting to reply to.

Come on guys. This isn't rocket science. Reddit has been doing it right for years. Why can't we have multiple levels of nested discussion?

Here's a screenshot of an example. I made some test comments under this post. After 5 nested comments there is no more 'Reply' link, and so it appears impossible to reply to my 5th comment:

screenshot

While making those posts I was annoyed by another silly issue:

screenshot2

  • the error message shows up twice: once in a popup and once on the page
  • the error message is cryptic and seems like debug left in unintentionally: (now - auth.last_post)...
  • 20 seconds isn't long enough to stop people being annoying with their spam; a limit like 60 comments per hour would be better than 1 per 20 seconds
Sort:  

Did anyone else try to upvote the image at the top of the page thinking that was the end of the post? :D

That fake ending fooled me too. It was a mistake to include it in the screenshot, but kind of funny too.

Shit happens, i feel you.

I thought I had accidentally upvoted before reading the article. My computer is slow, so I clicked to see who voted and waited for way too long while nothing happened, thinking it was my computer playing up again.

Lol, your comments went up probably because some moron with a lot of SP upvoted you.
Eitherway, I will also remember about the need of spoilers on post , if the conversation depth is ever done then having spoilers there would be nice also.

I agree! Nested conversations here are not great right now! They need to extend them. :(

Yeah it's a known issue I think. Will probably get fixed at some point.

Agree 100%. This is by far the most annoying part of Steemit!

I actually don't know why its limited to only 6.

In the whitepaper it says: "Good discussion requires back and forth posting. When you reply to someone else, they get
50% of any payout you receive in that thread. This rule applies up to 6 levels deep. Starting a
big discussion greatly rewards the parent poster.
"

and that's all they say about it, not why. Would be nice to know if it is just something that could be added easily.

It's fine that the rule only applies up to 6 levels deep, but that shouldn't make the conversation have to stop. If I post at level 15 and get rewarded then share that reward with levels 10 through 14 or whatever.

It's funny that the whitepaper mentions rewards going 6 levels deep when the comments themselves only go 5 levels deep. :)

It's funny that the whitepaper mentions rewards going 6 levels deep when the comments themselves only go 5 levels deep

The OP counts as a level. In the original reward-sharing model the original post would get 50% of the rewards from all comments below, and that would continue at each lower level.

That reward sharing was actually removed though. I believe some of the code implementing it is still around and is part of the issue with the reply depth. There may be other issues as well.

I agree the whole depth limit is extremely annoying and will drive some types of content and users away.


I find following conversations becomes much easier on steemd than here.
https://steemd.com/news/@williambanks/did-we-just-discover-a-type-ii-alien-civilization-not-popsci-or-science-fiction

Depth is a problem I find annoying because you can't start a serious conversation without using stupid tricks to get around depth limitations.
Just wish we could post via steemd.

sometimes i cant reply my followers, even we are in a discussion. so i was wondering when this will be fixed

Congratulations @dooglus! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58100.37
ETH 3135.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24