my thoughts about the steem blockchain in current state as social media platform

in #steemit8 years ago

At the moment, the steem platform offers just basic features

That means all you can do at the moment is write blog posts for content that is more or less anonymous, because there is no profile data.

So what I can do is blog, comment, vote and follow. Also I have a wallet and a bunch of keys for different purposes.

That is for sure a good start, but as a social media platform that's not yet much.


I have no real profile that I can maintain on the platform. 

Missing things to have in a profile:

  •  photo
  •  data to fill in like birthday, interests, links to other profile's (e.g. twitter, reddit, ...)

Of course that is voluntary to fill in your profile.

Now you can argue, that you can write an introduce yourself blog post.

Ok, that is better than nothing, but that means you would have to do it again every time when you want to change something. 

I feel it would be more beneficial to have such information as profile data instead of a blog post.

Also you could add some arbitrary data as key value pairs to your profile, so people can themselves decide what they wanna put there.


About missing privacy options

  •  to choose with whom you want to share your profile data (e.g. family, friends, followers, ...)

 << maybe such a feature is not as easy to realize on a blockchain

  •   to choose who can contact you per memo/message

At the moment you only can write someone a message when you also transfer steem. But you cannot block someone from transfering you steem and writing you a message. 

Also, if you have a new profile, you have no steem. that means, you have to load some steem (e.g. transfer from bitcoins/ether) or first write a post and hope for some incoming funds.

Maybe that concept is not too bad, because it could prohibit message spam. 


that are my thoughts for the moment

let me know, what you think

Sort:  

There are much more missing options like a proper guide for example.
There is a chat there https://steemit.chat/home although I am not interested yet.
When you registered you get steem power, which I money you cannot get right away (would be too easy but cool) . I don't advice like everyone to power up so I will see how high I can go without putting money here.
For the rest welcom here and good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41