You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ANNOUNCEMENT!!!!Betting, Is it hurting or Helping The Steemit Community? Special Edition Preview. No.0

in #steemit8 years ago

if it is what people vote for and what they want, is it hurting the community? after all ,the community is the people isn't it? so they decide what they like/support don't they? and they are continually supporting the betting posts...

Sort:  

Thank you for Posting your Opinion about this subject! You have initiated the conversation. Lets Keep it going! Get the Community involved.

The votes are mostly on voting bots and are trying to get curation rewards and free Steem. I think it is interesting discussion and people should weigh in. It is good for the conversation to move on.

Gambling is popular all over the world. Whether it is good or bad I don't know, but to be a true community I believe there should be a place for gamblers within Steemit.

Sure, I agree. Gambling means you have something to win and something to lose and usually requires a risk to the "gambler". I have no issue with gambling, and I think the people who are worried about it, aren't worried about gambling.

The are worried about 50% stake being kept by Steemsports, they are worried about the rewards pool, and they are worried about the trending page.

It is all just a discussion at this point, but I think very few are really upset just by gambling. ;)

Contests, give-away promotions, sweekstakes, drawings, etc. are also popular all over the world. In fact far more popular than blogging. That fact, along with the popularity of sports itself, largely explains why Steemsports is popular here.

I didn't vote for steemsports because I liked it. Others expressed they didn't read the post before betting.

#openmic has become an incredibly successful initiative and brand without the need to BUY votes and yet they are able to set a fixed reward for the winning participants. Those who vote for it support it, not the the stake holder who bought their vote.

If you want to vote for sports content use your own SP to vote for it! If you want to use other people's votes then buy their steem, let them use their vote for what they are interested in and please, respect the community that gives your steem value!

within Steemit.

within Steem - yes
within Steemit - no

Their users deserve to have much better user experience and they should focus on providing that. Their slow progress on this just proves that draining steemit community is good for their business.

I think you have a misunderstanding of what Steemit does. Their site is a browser for the blockchain. If it is on the blockchain, it is on Steemit (except in a few cases where there might be legally-mandated blocking).

You are proposing a radical change to the entire model, where Steemit exercises editorial control over which blockchain content appears on the web site. I see no evidence they have any interest in doing that.

I think you have a misunderstanding of what Steemit does.

That is the problem. Right now vision for steemit is not clear (at least for me). Steemit can be general purpose "browser for STEEM blockchain" (better looking version of steemd?) or "discussion and blogging platform".

On https://steemit.com/faq.html there is:

What is Steemit.com?
Steemit is a social network that empowers people for their contributions by rewarding them for their time, effort and creativity through digital points called Steem.

I will not argue, that one is more important than another, because for sure there is a need for each of this things.

There are different services like busy.org which could focus on one aspect, where steemit can focus on another. What we need is clear vision for steemit and good execution of this vision.

I wrote here in another comment:

From what I understood, the vision was to make Steemit the best blogging and discussion platform. Am I wrong?

I am seriously asking, am I wrong? Even before steemit I consider myself as blogger, so for sure I have tendency to wishful thinking, and I would like to see steemit as perfect place for blogging, but the question is, whether this is actually a vision of creators of steemit.

In worst case scenario, if steemit will no fulfill my needs, I will go to other places like busy or any other service (hopefully build on top of steem), which will match my needs and vision of my own.

From what I understood, the vision was to make Steemit the best blogging and discussion platform. Am I wrong?

@noisy i can't reply in-line below due to depth, but if you look back at the initial white paper it was absolutely not specifically focused narrowly on "blogging". It was to be a social network but the idea of different forms of value (not just blog posts) being subjectively determined by voters was baked into it.

That's more the blockchain, and what I wrote about steemit.com being a direct "view" of the blockchain, not one that exercises editorial discretion. Something like what @jesta is doing with graymass is more specifically focused on blogging, where specific blog posts would appear on the authors' own sites but be backed by the blockchain. Other things on the blockchain wouldn't appear there. As the ecosystem grows, that is one direction that may thrive. It is also possible that steemit.com may in time want to narrowly focus on only a subset of what is on the blockchain, but I don't see that happening right now (strictly my opinion).

Curation rewards are largely neutral between content and don't constitute an explanation for why votes are cast for particular content. I (or my voting bots) could vote for any number of other things and get the same or likely more curation rewards than I get voting for Steemsports.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.33
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66