Making Small Talk... About Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I love taking the opportunity to talk to other people about steemit and I recently got the chance to when I was waiting at the mall for them to finish putting together a package for me. One gentleman that I see quite often asked me what projects I had been working on lately, and I thought it would be the perfect time to inform him, and encourage him to get on and try steemit.

I decided to start by asking him if he knew what bitcoin was, which is usually how I start talking about steemit with people. Luckily he had heard about btc before, though he admitted that he didn't know much and hadn't used it in exchanging directly, but hey at least he had heard about it.

I then proceeded to tell him about this awesome new site that offers you the opportunity to be paid for your own content. He seemed really interested in the idea and told me that he was going to check it out on his next break.

success!

And he isn't the only one I got the chance to talk to this week. I have another friend who mentioned that he was interested in starting a finance blog but he wasn't exactly sure where to start. This was going to be his very first blog or site of any sort and he isn't any sort of website programmer. Whether he was or not, I would still tell him to check out steemit as the platform to post his new content.

It's very exciting to continue to witness the growth of the steemit community, there are now over 112,000 members on the site, with thousands of members that are active every single week.

How long before the site reaches 1 million?!

Many people who want to start a blog or site will quite often put out a little bit of money down first in order to purchase a domain etc and pay for web hosting, but with steemit they can get started on posting their own original content TODAY . I think steemit is a great option for anyone who is looking to set up their own "free website" where they can have the chance to post their own content and receive an opportunity to be rewarded for it. I can't wait to come across even more opportunities to tell people about this site.

Sort:  

Everyone should understand that he wants to convey to people

I like to take the 112,000 members number with grains of salt. It is more relevant to talk in terms of active members . Something which the definition may be tuned. For instance, what about the number of users who posted (including a comment) something over the lat 15 days, or voted, or ... or...

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94