You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photographers - Let's Educate Users About Correct Image Usage

in #steemit6 years ago

I always err on the side of caution. All portrait images that I have posted on Steemit have signed model releases for commercial use. The models knew their images were going to be used for stock photography. I’m not a lawyer, but I know people do have a right to sue for invasion of privacy. Street photographry has different rules. When I had a portrait studio, I always had people sign model releases that were limited to my advertising of the business. That release didn't cover commercial usage. If I were to make a portrait specially for Steemit, I would get an iron clad model release first. Hope this helps.

Sort:  

Thank you for the prompt response, that was exactly the kind of answer I was looking for.

Can I know more about rules of street photography? I live in Italy and I expect that the legislation may be different from yours, but: as far as I know, a model release is required either, except when the subject is not recognisable in the picture, or his/her importance in the picture is very limited (such as, photographing a huge crowd in a public event).

Yes, I would still be careful to use only crowd scenes or images of groups of musicians etc. Again, because you stand to gain, I wouldnt use recognizable individuals. Others do, though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42