Steemit vs eSteem

in #steemit7 years ago

Dive Diva
Telling it like it is
July 3rd, 2017

IMG_6836.jpg

Clearly, here on steemit we can all agree that this has been a great platform to use as an outlet for our creative sides, ways to share information, and connect with other cultures. However, there are some pros and cons to this as is with all new platforms and I am here to discuss just some of the pros and cons that I've found for the steemit website as well as the steemit mobile app called eSteem. My hope is to shed some light for those who may be struggling with either of these sites if not both and even possibly help the creators to better fine tune these flaws to help all of us here on steemit to have better use of this awesome platform.
First off, the main complaint that many including myself have about the steemit site that is used on computers does NOT have a drafts option. This makes it incredibly difficult for those who like to put thought into their posts as it doesn't allow anywhere for one to store and keep their rough drafts until they are ready to post the final product.
My solution for this has been to put my articles in my notes on either my computer or phone. This allows me somewhere to proof read, add my finishing touches, and store it until I'm happy with my work and ready to post it. Once I'm ready to share my articles, I email it to myself. Once on the computer, I can then open my email copy and paste my article, along with my pictures right onto my "submit a story" page. I can then check to make sure it looks good, the work has already been done and all that's left to do is POST!
There's also the inconvenience factor. Sometimes if not most, it's just really handy to have a mobile app vs. a computer as we all carry our phones around pretty much 24/7. Phones now have the capability to not only be a handheld computer, but a camera, phone, note pad, GPS, and so many other great things.
Not too sure if there's anything else that others are having issues with on the computer steemit site, but for me that's pretty much the extent of it.
IMG_6833.jpg
Now I'm not sure if anyone else has had the same problems with this mobile app for steemit, but for me, other than being able to check my page for reading other articles, upvotes, comments, and the number of followers it's rendered itself pretty much as a useless tool. At first it was GREAT! I was able to log on and take steemit everywhere I went making it super handy for spontaneous articles and being able to keep an eye on my little one all while working from my phone. It was extremely handy as all my pictures were right there ready to download to my articles and the best part was that the mobile app actually has a draft option where I could store my work for later submission. But only about three days after using the app, it began to say "Broadcast Error, Try Again Later" I tried logging out, deleting the app and re-downloading it, and turning my phone off and on. It seemed to fix the problem for about two days, but then then the broadcast error sign popped up again. I once again tried to restart the process, however it did not fix the issue this time.
For a while I just couldn't follow anyone back or upvote, but shortly after that my keyboard would disappear while trying to write an article. Now all the app is good for is to log in and check my profile, but I no longer have the ability to work from my phone. If it was more reliable, I would highly recommend the app over the computer site any day. But unless you know something I don't, save yourself the headache and just stick to using a computer.
As with any new platform, there will always be room for improvements. Competition is out there and just waiting to see what flaws they can learn from to make their new platform better than the last. So it's really just a waiting game for us here on steemit to see if these areas of improvement will be fixed or if another platform will take advantage of it's weaknesses to better improve their own. Personally, I really love steemit overall and the awesome community that it holds and hopefully we will all see some great improvements in the near future. Until then, keep steeming on!

~Dive Diva

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62483.85
ETH 2444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62