TLDR Steem Whitepaper - Upvoting and Value

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

How Often Should I Upvote and How Should I Store My Steem?

As a new user to Steemit, I finally got around to reading the whitepaper and I highly recommend everyone to sit down and take the time to go through it too. Here are some of the concepts that I found important to know getting started in all this:

Chill out with those upvotes homey, take a break!

steemit vote power chart

Upvoting is a great way to promote the content you enjoy and also to earn some of the rewards from the posts. But did you know that depending on how often you upvote and when you upvote makes a big difference?

As seen in the graph above, the more you upvote, the lower the potential rewards you get for each. Even if you create multiple accounts and split your Steem among them to try and counter this, the same effect will be had - just spread across your accounts. So treat your votes with care, and only give them to the content you find valuable!

NOTE: You can upvote A LOT before this actually becomes an issue. Go to https://steemd.com/@discombobulated (replace with "@yourusernamehere") to view your voting power on the left

Upvote timing can make a HUGE difference

After reading how to properly upvote from the post by @steemship I found out that if you upvote within the first couple minutes of a post coming out, you could only receive 5% of the curation reward with the majority going to the author. But if you wait just a little bit until 15-30 minutes afterwards, you could earn between 50%-100% of the curation reward!

This is a tricky situation though to play with - do you want to accept a smaller reward percentage, but vote before the whales and get a nice piece of that pie? Or do you want to wait a few minutes and aim for maximizing your curation reward percentage?

How should I keep the money I am earning?

For the everyday person, holding onto Steem Dollars is the safest, easiest way. You don't have to worry about huge fluctuations in price, inflation/dilution, and watching the markets everyday to see if you need to buy or sell. This is relatively the safest way to hold value on Steem. Plus you earn interest on holding them too!

STEEM DOLLARS

Stability is an important feature of successful global economies. Without stability, individuals across the world could not have low cognitive costs while engaging in commerce and savings. Because stability is an important feature of successful economies, Steem Dollars were designed as an attempt to bring stability to the world of cryptocurrency and to the individuals who use the Steem network.

The actual mechanics behind how this works are a little tricky and require a level of economic understanding. But for the everyday blogger, all you have to know is that Steem Dollars are eventually going to trend around $1SD to $1USD and will stay around that valuation.

STEEM

STEEM is the fundamental unit of account on the Steem blockchain. All other tokens derive their value from the value of STEEM. Generally speaking STEEM should be help for short periods of time when liquidity is needed.

Someone who holds STEEM without converting it to Steem Power is diluted by approximately 0.19% per day.

For Bloggers, you only really need to think of STEEM as your "middle-man" currency when trying to buy-in or cash-out to the system. If you do hold STEEM, only do so for a few days at most as the dilution will begin to eat away its value.

STEEM POWER

Because Steem wants to encourage long-term growth, it is hardwired to allocate 9 STEEM to Steem Power stakeholders for every 1 STEEM it creates to fund growth contribution incentives. Over time this drives the ratio of the total STEEM value of Steem Power balances to the total of STEEM balances toward 9:1. (It seems likely that the ratio will be somewhat greater than 9:1 due to continued net Powering Up of the newly printed STEEM.) It also means that long-term holders are almost completely protected from the dilution used to fund growth.

SP can only be converted back to STEEM over 2 years via 104 equal weekly payments.

Essentially, Steem Power is a way to be a long-term investor in the Steem project. If you are bullish on the technology and see bright things for our future, this is the way to go. But remember that you need to go through a two year process to be able to get those funds back!

Good luck everyone and remember to Keep it Steemy

Sort:  

This is a very good presentation that should help people understand the steem system.

On voting, I try to keep my voting power above 75% and I can monitor it at https://steemd.com/@kenny-crane (change my name of kenny-crane to your name). One has to balance the quantity of votes one does per day, versus the quality of each vote. I think if I keep my voting power above 50% then I maximize my return and my contribution to content creators. I haven't done the math on this, but I would think, as a guideline, try to keep your voting power as high as possible, and if it goes under 50% you may want to vote a little less and let the votingpower rise over time, as it will if you slow your voting.

On the value of Steem Power, I need to read the White Paper again, because I have a question about how much Steem one gets for their Steem Power when they power down. For example, if I power down 104 steem power, I believe I turn one steem power to steem each week for 104 weeks. But I'm not sure how much steem I get for 1 steem power. Is it one steem, at the current value that week, for each steem power? If anyone knows for sure, please reply. I do intend to find out for myself, but still, if you have an answer on this, please share. Thanks!

Again, good job on this post! Best wishes!

Yes it would be at the current ratio at the time of that weeks payment. From the whitepaper on p9:

SP can only be converted back to STEEM over 2 years via 104 equal weekly payments. '1SP' can be viewed as a share in a pool of STEEM. The network automatically adds STEEM to the pool every block. At any time users can convert their STEEM into SP at the same ratio as STEEM in the vesting pool to total SP. Converting STEEM to SP does not dilute existing holders of SP. Likewise, every time SP is converted back to STEEM it is done at the current ratio. Individuals are guaranteed to have more STEEM in the future than they have when they first convert from STEEM to SP.

"Likewise, every time SP is converted back to STEEM it is done at the current ratio."

Thanks for that!

And I think I am seeing information on that ratio here: https://steemd.com/distribution

Currently, it reads:
Generated 2016-07-12 00:01 (UTC)
1 SP = 1M VESTS = 209.545 STEEM = $61.816
and I assume it is updated, at least on steemd.com, once a day at 12 00:01 (UTC).

See and this is exactly the kind of post I think should be pinned like I mentioned earlier today.
https://steemit.com/steem/@will-zewe/let-s-make-it-easier-to-find-answers-about-steemit-and-its-features

Make this type of post easy to find for the newbies.

I've voted on this post 38minutes after it came out. ;-) Thanks for the tips to help newbies understand the game better.

I don't want to see other people making my same mistake =)

Wow, really valuable information here.

Adding it to my personal list of must-have-for-understanding-steemit posts!

Thanks Psychonaut (love the name btw)! For a while I was practicing becoming a speedrunner for the game. Was watching Grimdonuts video as a guide:

Great post thankyou for the info!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63