A Welcome From Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

Why Didn't I Hear About This Sooner?!

I became aware of Steemit recently and finally signed up. With my first post, and after only introducing myself, I earned a whopping $4.80! It may not sound like much, but omg this already has me hooked!

When you research people trying to make money blogging, you get disheartening articles of most bloggers never earning a dime, or having to put in countless hours, if not weeks or months before ever seeing a return on their efforts. And the articles that do provide help on becoming a quality blogger show you just how much you have to incorporate if you even want to try to consider it professionally.

For a while I tempted the idea of trying to start writing more, but with so much negativity and slim chances of success, I always thought "why bother?" When you have to deal with a sea of various cookie-cutter blog websites that shove ads down your throat to make revenue and give very little rewards to writers for an immense commitment, it just didn't seem worth it to me to ever try.

In reading an article from LifeHacker, they say

But the vast majority (of bloggers) make less than $3.50 per day.
(Most of these were blogs less than two years old, though.)

What?! Not only is the rate sadly low for most, but an emphasis had to be put on the age of the blog! Bloggers don't start earning any real income usually until months if not years down the road. But not with Steemit, after my first post already earning a few dollars, it's clear that there is opportunity here with plenty of success stories.

What is especially great about this type of platform is you can have a variety of work ethics all participate and equally prosper for their proportional efforts. You don't necessarily have to be pounding away on the keyboard night and day to ever earn a cent, you can just use Steemit as a social network and earn a bit that way. All around, the idea is bound to success and I for one am determined to continue trying to create quality posts that hopefully will bring value to the community.

Keep it Steemy guys. (working on a catch-phrase)

Sort:  

Upvoted you

Content is key.. many people many talents , lots to share lots to learn.. looking forward to learning and sharing with all Steemers! Let's do this!

Great point, I hope to see niche areas of discussion continue to get posted. Shark attacks, gardens and cabins, alternative feminine products, and more! So much variety and great content

Yep, I quit believing I could make money blogging for a while. So much work. BUT damn, it was a great school. I learned social media, I learned copy writing, I learned SEO, HTML, CSS, Advertising, etc.

Its like a all in one school for internet marketing. You just dont get paid much unless youve been very smart about your niche picking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60209.30
ETH 2627.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55