You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “Musician’s Guide to Steemit” Chapter FOUR: Creating Content - How to Build a Steem Post Schedule

in #steemit6 years ago

Ha! I always wanted to be a burgeoning Steem math drummer :D. lol
thanks man for the mention ;)

I'm an all-around renaissance sort of guy. I always do a bunch of different stuff, so I'm always struggling to find and master just one topic or find my own niche. BUT, after years of functioning like that, I realized that there are lots of advantages in doing multiple projects, as long as you're keeping track and organizing yourself so they don't turn into a mess.
It's a trial and error sort of thing, but after some time I noticed a pattern in my content creation.
I can post a jam everyday, since I play and jam and record everyday. That sort of music would be classified in "improvisation" niche. The thing I would like to do is to post additional content after editing and mixing those jams into original songs. And that way I'm sketching down the whole process. (Which is a thing I really love) -- currently we're in a process of recording and collecting audio.

But since joining Sndbox I decided to try and focus on making at least 2 great project posts per week. And that actually makes me work more for it. Yes, the formatting and everything takes time, but it pays off in the end - since you can use it as a form of documentation afterwards.

I really believe that people should post a lot of content and make their sketches and project fragments public, because you never know who can be of help.

Anyways, awesome advice my friend, it's really motivating.
And thank you for helping everybody like you helped me a bunch here.

Sort:  

Yeah man you are not the only one who has struggled to find the right niche. That is a really hard thing to do, some people make it look easy with super defined aesthetics and stuff but that is one of the more challenging aspects of a music career.

I like one thing I heard about personal brands which is - "The people with the best personal brand usually just do cool stuff as opposed to worrying about marketing themselves all the time" - and that's true I think. If the music is great and falls within one or two main genre umbrellas, I think the rest can work out with time.

Yeah man :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88