You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mining Steemit With a Teaspoon

in #steemit7 years ago

This is an attention economy. Relegating our attention to robots belies the purpose of the community. If we're going to let robots do the voting, if we're just going vote for our own posts, we might as well turn on the TV and check out.

The purpose of the attention economy, near as I can tell, is to encourage people to interact and correspond with each other. Steemit is an attempt to promote social interaction online while reminding us to be polite, even if we can hide behind the veil of anonymity.

I'd prefer a community worthy of sharing my ideas with, than a website run by voting robots, each vying for the vote with code rather than the feelings behind the hands that type each and every character on the screen.

Sort:  

Thanks, the issue of bots is more complex and I would suggest a different solution. For example, the MSP bots try to aggregate support for minnows, yet it can be argued that the bots on their own still do little to foster followers and communication.

Those bots that are merely automated voting-circles would be affected by the changes I propose. As their income drops then there will be more available to spread around the human community that values the content and interactions.

This is one reason why my own MAP initiative aims to help fewer people but in a deeper way - or so I hope. I don't think MAP would work with 100 people per week being voted on; although if I get to 6 people per day that would be about 180 a month.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36