My Story with Tobacco

in #steemit8 years ago

How Did I Start Smoking Tobacco?

One of my earliest memories as a child is of my Dad and the smell of 

tobacco. I had a joyful childhood. As I aged puberty hit. It was 

around between the 6th and 7th grade that I started smoking. On a whim

my friend and I got our hands on a pack of cigarettes. I remember the

smell distinctively. I felt older and that was the entire point. It was

around that time I tried alcohol for the first time as well. 


It was a red labeled brand. Because it was new to me I didn't acquire the

ashy aura that I would go on to get. I did smell strongly though and it 

was a constant struggle to avoid being caught. Throughout high school it

was a crutch I smoked on and off for a couple of years gradually tapering 

off to a couple of cigarettes then none. Most of the time I was by myself

or in crowds where it was acceptable and in a way encouraged. 

It was just so easy to just sit with a cigarette and justify that it was

needed to complete the picture of just quiet contemplation. 


There was some times where I would stop, stop drinking. But it was on 

and off until my later years in college when I finally stopped for good.

How Did I Stop Smoking Tobacco?

Cold turkey. I stopped drinking as well. The method I used was to gradually

stop. First I changed my brand to a "light" brand/version. I was a pack a day smoker

and it was a habit I enjoyed. I then reduced the number of cigarettes I smoked

in a day. As "normal" reversed smelling like cigarettes became...it just

stank. And I learned about the differences between chemical treated vs

non-chemical treated tobacco - it really does make a difference. The chemical

treated tobacco is a lot worse I could feel it throughtout my entire circulatory system.

It just agitated me. 


Smoking uses time. Takes up time. I learned to replace the habit with more positive

"things" such as physical and breathing excercises. I suppose one of my habits of

lighting incense helped as well. I think it helped to emphasize the "smell".

Towards the end one of the deal-breaker's for me was the smell. I just didn't

want it on my hands, my clothes, in my room. 

It wasn't anybody else - it was me.


The drinking just went hand in hand with it and died a natural death.


The time I spent with people in a social setting, smoking, drinking, ...etc? 

I just switched it around. At first, at least at first it does help to avoid the old

haunts then it becomes a test of will and character then a question, what's normal for me?

And - where do I spend my time and with whom? 

How Have I Justified My Choice to Stop?

1. The smell can be offensive both to myself and others.

2. It's essentially a poison.

3. It can be a habit. A habit that uses money.

4. My actions could perpetuate a "promotion" of it. See point 2.

5. My life could of been brighter without it and I've actually realize it.

6. It's not a freedom it's a setback - health is a freedom.


Nowadays it just doesn't seem rational to me whether it's one cigarette or twelve - or even a cigar.

Whatever I've got to deal with I can deal with it without needing to express it outwards in a cigarette

or alcohol. At the very least I have the conscience choice.


Don't need it, don't want it. 


I hope this post can encourage others to stop as well. 

Sort:  

Congratulations @digipzle969! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33