Rethinking My Steemit Game... Again. - Curation, Evergreen and Exposing New Content.

in #steemit6 years ago

I was recently reading one of Andrachy's comments on a thread about the Steem 19.10 Official Release (you can find his comment not too far down). In his comment, he brings up the concepts of curating and evergreen content, in part.

It got me doing a lot of thinking this week.

My particular project is pretty much all about curating content. That is what drew me to Steemit mostly. That and a lot of the anarchy geeks I admire are here doing great things.

Anyway, I have been working in a manner that is confused, if not backward. I have been using Steemit as sort of a rough draft platform to curate from, not for. My plan has been to use Steemit to create content on and get feedback from and to then weave the content in a curated form on my website.

That is missing half of the point of Steemit - other people's content.

We can resteem other people's stuff, but that isn't navigational. There is no logical hierarchy of anything this way.

I have been scratching my head about how to present topics or categories under voluntary principles like say, education or trade etc. All we have right now is a stream and tags. That is cool and really pretty useful if enough content is there to suite the readers, but I want something that is very navigation focused. Steemit, at this point, is a long way from giving me the tools that I need to do that, which is why I had the plan I mentioned above of using my website to create a logical navigational flow to content.

What I really need to do is create a front end (app) with all that navigation to pull and update from Steemit. Andrachy talks about this briefly and I think this is where the real power of Steemit style content and curating can do what I think is of value. Creating that is out of my league, so I would have to pay. I'm certainly not against that, I'm just trying to flesh out the idea still.

It is an interesting thought that is new to me. What do you think?

Sort:  

I am led to believe this is what the communities is going to be. Without knowing how it will look, it will be available to every SMT on here.

That said, I do agree with you that it would be great to have a UI that could be used to group content much better and create groups that interact around common topics. I am not sure how such an interface would look but it is a worthwhile endeavor in my opinion.

Just a thought but how about a reddit type interface with a built in chat feature that would allow members to gather around an individual topic and interact with those who have similar likes.

I am not sure of the technical possibilities of something like that.

From what I can make of it, what you describe is what we will be looking at in some fashion.

I am not sure of the technical possibilities of something like that.

My understanding of andrachy's point is that these things are more than possible. It just needs developers. This is a blockchain aimed directly at developers.

Kinda off-topic, but is there any way I can message you? I'm on Steem.chat and Discord.

I don't hang out on either, but I can meet you on either if you want to chat.

Add me on discord: rvanstel#4326

well at some point in time the curation is the only thing which will make steemit great again if bid bots don't stop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82