You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Too Much Fluff: flagging and Steemit - What does the community think about my flagging habits?

in #steemit7 years ago

I have been thinking about this a lot lately and trying to read about opinions on the matter. This is the best article and comments I have seen. Thank you all for the discussion.

I have been staying away from downvotes so as to not get retaliated upon. I also find it hard to wrap my mind around reducing value that others place on a thing. If they vote, they find value. Who am I to reduce that value?

Your points give me something to think about concerning curation towards the value of this site, which I have a reasonably significant stake in.

All that said, I recently down voted one comment due to what I thought was no source on a graphic, and then was wrong so I corrected it. I'm very concerned about taking money out of someone's pocket without a really good reason, and then I see that I could be wrong.

Of course, I really do want this site to be the best...

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your post, I haven't see you around much until late, great content - welcome to steem. This is certainly an issue that I have been struggling with.

I have been staying away from downvotes so as to not get retaliated upon.

I have already seen this happen to me and I have reserved my flags as of late to the really low value posts... I am okay with the lottery for the short term.

I also find it hard to wrap my mind around reducing value that others place on a thing. If they vote, they find value. Who am I to reduce that value?

I think this a very natural and honestly, agreeable point. The problem is, here on steem - it is your duty/right to use your stake in the platform to influence payouts how you see fit. You have the stake, no one can question your vote, you own part of this community. You take a much more nuanced stance than most members - stay thinking!

Thanks! I'm a late comer. I only started a couple of months ago.

stay thinking!

Sometimes I wonder if I think well, but I know I think a lot!

That's okay because I tend to think good. Haha.

I'm late to the party too - I missed the early days of steem due to my skepticism and unfounded blockchain maximalism.

I was really sceptical about Steemit last year. It just sounded too good to be true, but now I think I understand why that happened.

I have long thought that blockchain tech will be best when everyone has one (maybe not quite).

Well I had some issues with the way the steem blockchain was launched and I stayed away. Those issues were largely unfounded as of late.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34