You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Inequality on Steemit is a Good Thing!

in #steemit8 years ago

Maybe I didn't chose my wording correctly. What I wanted to say is that the whales are only a very small group here. Their preference of topics is not going to determine the success of Steemit. It's the preference of the subscribers that is of importance. If 20 whales would only like to see introduction posts and therefore only introduction posts are rewarded, but 2 million of people would like to see other topics, than whales will kill this project. Because the project will only become a success if Steemit provides topics that satisfy the desire of the 2 million subscribers.

I gave an extreme example here, but just to illustrate why I think whales upvoting power is way too big compared to the rest. The rest has hardly any influence on the topics that are rewarded. You could compare this with a company forcing 2 million people to buy their product without caring whether these 2 million people like the product or not.

Ok, I understand we are still in an initial phase and they want to attract people. But I think at this point attracting people shouldn't be the number 1 focus. What is more important now is to make sure that the value is here to attract people automatically. I am working on a post about this topic that I will publish here tomorrow to make my point clear.

Thanks for the link. I will read it. I am curious about your game theoretic explanation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59511.68
ETH 2613.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39