Is steemit dying a slow death ?

in #steemit8 years ago

I see all bad signs for Steemit. First, I see the Steem price getting hammered everyday. There are hardly days the Steem price goes up. Secondly, when I have a look at the new posts, I don't see as many posts as there used to be a month or 2 ago. So I am wondering whether Steemit is dying a slow death ?

The problems of Steemit are very clear. First of all, as I am mentioning from the first day I came here, the whales have WAY TOO MUCH POWER here. They are the Gods of Steemit that determine which posts get hugely rewarded. This is really problematic because it kills the spirit of free markets. This is exactly what the Steemit white paper warned for. There is a literal statement that when people get the feeling that things here are not being fair, they will leave the platform.

Secondly, the rewards are too assymetric. Those that are lucky to get rewarded by the whales can get 1000s of $. The others get rewarded nothing or a very small amount. It is my opinion that it would be much better to make the gap in reward smaller than is now the case. Steemit is almost like playing the lottery which makes people frustrated and let them leave the platform.

Thirdly, I noticed whales upvoting people they know ... friends, girlfriends, ... In the beginning I didn't see this but when I started to look on youtube I could derive from some youtube comments that some girls that got rewarded with 5.000-10.000 $ for 1 post, actually knew the whale that upvoted her. Remember ... the unfairness principle. The whales might think this is fair but many people will regard this as unfair.

I don't want to kick the shins of the people of Steemit. I really wish Steemit become as big as Facebook. But I can not keep pretending to be blind and behave like a Steemit prostitute that only post lovely things about Steemit just in the hope to get money for it. Steemit has a HUGE flaw. The flaw Steemit has is the whole whale structures. Some called it communism, others captalism of friends ... no matter how you call it, but the extreme power that whales have here, will kill Steemit. Very soon competitors will come. Synereo has his competitor, Bitcoin's yoursnetwork is a competitor, ... and who knows which other competitors that will arise. If these competitors come with a more honest scheme, they will send Steemit to the land of the forgotten. OR ... Steemit thinks about how they can make the platform more honest.

I already warned for this in july, repeated myself in august and now in september I repeat myself. My warnings can be ignored but I believe that if these warnings are not dealt with, future looks very bad and dark for steemit.

Sort:  

The system has already introduced new voting rules. The creators are aware of the problems in the system and try to fix them. I wish them luck. There are a lot of flaws. Hopefully they will fix soon, too.

What are these rules ? I missed them. I have not been much here for some weeks due to exams :-)

Hi, this like going back in the steemit past to find out what happened in the beginning like a "steemeologist" I wonder why there is a reply button for older posts but not a resteem one...whould have loved to share this..

It would be very thoughtful to know your thoughts on "then and now" about this great site .. cheers !! @diego24 and @tanata
p.s. also why posts are not allowed open payouts? why 7 days only? why not just leave them open for maybe a wandering whale to notice and power up, especially important contents like that ..?! seeing the payout of this posts just make the point of the post itself

Your article is astute and accurate on many levels, if you look at the price value of Steemit dollars against USD also, you see this "slow death" before your eyes, the only real reason steemit got off the ground was the dissatisfaction felt many youtubers, due to such little control and freedom given to creators, and as time goes on and more and more people become aware of the whales on here, its slowly going to die for sure. Look at the lack of income from your excellent post as evidence of this, its a bunch of greedy nerds behind the scenes, not doing this for liberty but to try and steal a slice of youtube and social media pie, while being just as ethically destitute.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59292.67
ETH 2590.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47