Steemit Primer for non-Steemians

in #steemit7 years ago

Hey, Steemians! This post isn't really FOR you, though of course you're welcome to read it, and maybe share it with friends you want to bring here. This was written for my friends who aren't on Steem yet.

Hello, friends! Some of you have seen me posts links to my relatively new Steemit blog and may have wondered what that is, why is there a dollar amount at the bottom, and what's the point of it all.
steemitlogo.jpg

Steemwhat?

Steemit is a social network/blogging platform on the Steem blockchain. As you probably know, blockchain technology is mostly used to power currency. This is also partially true of Steem, as it has 2 tradeable currencies: Steem and Steem Backed Dollars, aka SBD. Both can be traded with other crypto currencies or used to buy stuff.

When I post on Steemit, I can get the local variation of "likes," known as "upvotes." Those are worth money. Two kinds of money, in fact!

The Currencies

The first kind is SBD. That's simple. It's a currency that will always be worth at least one US dollar. But since it's tradeable, its value can go up. It's been worth as much as $13 plus.

2018-01-22.png
Steemit

The second kind is Steem Power. Wait, I hear you cry, what the heck is Steem Power? Didn't you say there were TWO currencies? What's wrong with you, Didi? Well, Steem Power is non tradeable. It also can't be withdrawn all in one go. This makes it safe, because it means if someone gets control of my Steem account, and most of my money is in SP, they have to wait to get the money in 13 weeks of installments. And by then, I'll hopefully have control of my account back.

Feeling the (Steem)Power

SP also has a second use: It determines the value of my upvote. The more I have, the more money my vote is worth. And since it's considered fine to upvote your own stuff, the more I have, the more money I make off of my own content, regardless of how many other people vote for it.

2018-01-22 (1).png
Busy.org

Now, if I have SBD, I can hold it, I can convert it and use it or hold it in another currency, and I can convert it to Steem and convert THAT to SP in a process called "Powering up."

If you want to know more about how the rewards work, this recent post is an excellent guide. And really, you can find tutorials on every possible topic here. As I've been saying to friends, the most popular topic on Steemit is Steemit. And that's okay in a new-ish platform.

You want apps? We have apps!

Steemit was the first major application of Steem after the currency, but it is certainly not the last. There's DTube, which is a Steem powered youtube clone. There's DMania, which a 9gag clone. There's... well, just look here. So many Steem powered tools. But the thing is, if I post a video to DTube, its automatically posted to my Steemit. And also to Busy.org, which is a different ui for Steem that's more facebook-ish. Apparently, there's also a native "communities" feature on the way, which should bring more of a social media feel and an ability to find posts and people based on interests in a better way than tags.

2018-01-22 (2).png
DTube

There are a bunch of ways to chat with fellow Steemians (that's people who use Steem. You get it). But right now, most people actually do that outside of the blockchain, on Discord. What's Discord? It's a lot like Slack, which means it's a nice web interface for good old IRC. But unlike Slack, it's super easy to join. Anyone can post an invite link. Say, on a Steemit post, and there you are. Not nearly as nice looking, though. I've found some really nice communities over there.

The line at the bottom

Why am I on Steem and Steemit? Because even though it's been around for a bit, now feels like the start of something big. This community, or hub of communities, really, is still being shaped. It could be a force for good, or it could easily become a cesspool. And, you know, I'd like the first option.

Plus, well, there may be serious money to be made. Some people here certainly believe so. And it's a way to dip one's toe in the world of Blockchain without spending money.

Okay. I'm into it. Now what?

There's a sizable "Sign up. Get STEEM" button below this post, if you're not logged in to Steemit. Click that, sign up. Do be aware that it will probably take a few days to get an invite. Once you're in, talk to me. I'll help get you started, and/or connect you to good folks who will.

Sort:  

Nice post @didic 😊😊😊

I got more clarity reading your post, thanks (resteeming too!)

Thank you! It feels weird to write any kind of guide when I have been on here less than a month, so it's good to hear that it's useful!

wow, it seems you've been on for more than a month! in any case, yes the guide was very helpful and if/when I get someone on here I'll refer them to it...

Was looking through this to use with the friends I bring in. Saw my image. Was very confused for a minute. LOL. How fun!

Enough navel-gazing though, this is really helpful. I will be sharing it with friends.

hlw my dear @didic,Thanks for sharing the information have a good day my dear friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76