You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beyond the Ethics of Bot Voting | Steemit Beginner's Series

in #steemit6 years ago

As usual, you put in THE WORK. I will add a point you may have decided to skip: When I see a vote bot, I feel less inclined to upvote myself. I feel like the person isn't relying on the quality of their posts. I know for many, vote buying is about visibility, not profit, and I get that. I don't claim my reaction is logical or well founded. But... it is what it is.

Sort:  

I know for many, vote buying is about visibility,

The sad part about that is, that the more people use bots, the less it works for visibility, as everyone else is also using them, and you have to keep outbidding the other people on the top of the trending page.

And as time passes, people realize posts on trending are all there due to bots, so stop visiting trending/hot, like I have.

BTW, I wonder if seeing a post with very high rewards also leads you to upvote it less often. I know I do that.

100% to pretty much everything here. The main trending page? It is a joke. Proof of brain? Please.

Yeah I hear you @didic and feel similarly

👆🏼 You're absolutely right, I did not add that point in but I remember you stating this before and at times, feeling this way as well. I see a wallet full of transfers to bots? I'm turned off. Even though my own wallet looked like that for a spell!

Making this concept as transparent, unbiased, and comprehensive as possible is my goal. This post is just the beginning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34