What's Up With Steemit Society?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

2017_1125_002447_051.JPG

When I came back to my country after a long journey, I was homeless and jobless. I didn't know how to rebuild my life from scratch. All I had were my stories and experiences, and of course, nobody cared. Nobody really wanted to listen. Quite understandable as my most of my friends have moved on, married, jobs, kids, responsibilities and all that. So, I have to move on too. My life now is no longer friend-centric.

But then, I still have one really close friend remaining and he happened to know about Steemit. When I was complaining to him about my joblessness, he referred me to this site. All he said was "write and you will earn." He is not even here yet. Unlike the skeptics out there, I just immediately signed up for Steemit when I heard earn. No questions asked. I guess I was kind of desperate to live. I didn't even research about it. I didn't even know the difference between STEEM and sbd yet. I just started writing about my travel experiences and all my hardships on the road. My first post earned about $70 and the second one even went trending and earned about $300+ at the time. When I told some people that I'm earning by blogging, nobody really believed until I had the actual money. "Too good to be true" - that's what they say. I don't have to show the money or prove them anything. Just see my life and the freedom that I have now. Sure my life is not perfect and freedom is not easy. I've been living with the bare minimum and that's how I survive - and even be able to put up a business. Well, not everyone can earn big time straight away on Steemit, you have to write something, like something about you. Not everyone here on Steemit and in real life has persistence. I continued writing for 7 days until I got what I earned. And that was the start of the rest of my Steemit life. I thank this community for helping me start my life all over.

The past few days I was feeling low as business was kind of slow. This is such a competitive world, I have to put in a lot of hard work. Launching it is probably the hardest part of the journey. But anyway, I just started. I have to take my time just like what I did here on Steemit. 1 year and 3 months, and still here, earning a bit. Suddenly, a group started inquiring about my travel package. At first, I said that I won't believe it until I actually have the money. Then yesterday, they finally paid. Like wow, I earned just like that, well, it was hard work too. And I am very happy with my first sale! This is just the beginning.

Last night, I was mentally and physically tired. I was coordinating with my suppliers asking them to help me create a good experience for my clients. I went back home feeling exhausted yet accomplished. More hard work to come. To celebrate my little win, I powered up my Steemit account, okay, just 20 STEEM to flatten my sp. When I have more profits in the future, and if STEEM is still low, I will surely power up some more.

Then another way of me celebrating is to share. I'm curious about @steembasicincome though I still don't understand it fully. I will find time to learn more about it. I bought some shares for some prolific writers who deserve my support. But I was so tired last night that I wasn't paying attention to details. And so I made a mistake, I forgot to put the @ sign. I am planning to sponsor some more but I hope I can get this resolved first. Or did I just give 10 STEEM for nothing?

Wrong.jpg

Though I like Steemit programs like this, I still hope that Steemit will change the reward system a bit, like come on, it has been a while. Don't tell me it's still new. Or maybe, people just don't really care anymore? Right now, it pretty much works the same thing in our society. Like @liberosist suggested a lot of things to improve but to no avail. I don't really know what's going on around here now due to my busy schedule. But Steemit should know that my real life efforts, eventually, will go to the community. I just hope there will be more good writers around here as I'm running out of people to upvote. And hopefully, more important changes in the Steemit society too.

Sort:  

"I just immediately signed up for Steemit when I heard earn. No questions asked."

Haha I think I googled "is steemit a scam" first but I pretty much did the same. I don't have a ton of skills that anyone wants to pay me to use but I can go on and on in text lol.

Oh wow thank you for sposoring me. You didn't blow your money. I have been quietly buying shares for people for a while and now my second largest upvoter (usually) is steembasicincome. It isn't a life changing upvote but it does work out to a pretty okay upvote if you have a nice handful of shares (I sponsored you for two more this week, speaking of). Right now, I think I get about .25 on every post so if the price ever goes back up, that should work out to a pretty good vote.

Congrats on getting paid for your hard work.

Wow thanks for sponsoring me! So you can repeatedly sponsor someone, right? I think there's like 100 limit to shares or something. I have to read about steembasicincome again.

I don't fully understand how they calculate the upvote but it is based on your number of shares and how often you post plus a bonus if you upvote posts from the steembasicincome account (they only post like every two days so it isn't spammy or anything).

You can have 100 shares in each pool. There are like 9 pools and 9 accounts so if you have 100 in the steembasicincome pool and you get another 5 or 10 you would get a big vote from the pool that has more of your shares and a smaller one from the other pool. So you would get a 5 or 10 share vote from an account named sbi3 or something plus your big 100 share vote from steembasicincome.

It is a bit complicated though and I don't really understand it completely but it seems to work. The votes aren't giant but they always seem to come through and they always make sure that I get a minimum payout on whatever I post.

Some people run easy contests to win shares too. That is where I got a good portion of mine. Those might be worth checking out if you are bored and just clicking around on the internet to kill time or something lol.

Okay when I was reading about steembasicincome last night, it was kind of hard for me to understand haha. But you explain it well! Anyway, now I see that I have an upvote from steemitbasicincome, maybe that was from you guys. They also replied that I didn't blow my steem lol.

I just realized that I shamelessly announced here my good deed lol. I just hope to attract more people to upvote, some writers I follow are not posting anymore.

I have bought you and keniza like 15 or there abouts each and maybe 10 for a few other people and a handful of single ones. I know I have seen someone else send off for shares for you too though but I can't remember who it was. I buy them for people who I talk to a lot. I figure I can give more that way than I can with my little upvote.

So it is good to invest more in steembasicincome then? Hmm, Ok I'll put more steem. I don't have a lot to upvote these days. I need to find some time to search for more authors. I checked out those you recommended and I put some of then on autoupvote. Sometimes I get busy that I don't even use my upvote.

It doesn't pay out a ton but I think it is better to spend the 1 steem on that every now and then than it is to gamble on a resteem or somethings. There are probably easier ways to make money here but it lets you help a person while you also help yourself a little bit.

it lets you help a person while you also help yourself a little bit.

This is good.

It would be cool if there were a dating dApp. Dinder Mifflin.

lol yeah because I got banned from Tinder.

That is a pretty good idea. It would probably make someone rich if they knew how to make that type of thing work.

There's a few that made it to white paper stage. Online dating doesn't suit a dApp and data-based approaches fare poorly in shallow pools.

Hello, for sure it needs to change. I have been slack and need to improve my writtting. Life has become hectic I need to regroup and get back on the creative vibe 💯🐒

Life has become hectic I need to regroup and get back on the creative vibe.

As long as you come back, that's fine!

Yep I'm on it 💯🐒

Congratulations on your first paying customers. I've sent you 50 SBI / @steembasicincome shares to celebrate this huge milestone.

Yey, thank you so much!

You just took action hearing about Steemit. That's great. Execution is everything.

When I first heard about Steemit from a YouTube video, well it is too good to be true. I know you can make money writing online, but getting like/upvote, and that generates money, it is like a dream. I was curious. I signed up on Steemit and saw the reality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76