Reacting Before Reading - The Rise of the Unaware

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

fahrenheit-451-3.jpg

We got to understand that we are not living in a perfect community, still filled with humans not as professional, intelligent and logical as the AIs. The social media seems to be a safe refuge and a perfect opportunity to yell at strangers these days. It has become more prevalent, and worst to those who are writing about controversial and political topics. I admire these authors' fearless essays and articles that I couldn’t even imagine the regular yellers they get. But even a bright side topic such as travel can get some yellers, but just a tiny fraction of them. The rewards and the downvote system just seem to make people calmer and nicer.

But allow me the freedom to tackle the issue of the yellers or those who go straight to the comment section without even reading. I would not blame this disturbing laziness to read or the short attention span of some people as that would be totally unfair. Perhaps, it is just people’s attraction to outrage. That we humans sometimes naturally react first when we get hurt before even trying to understand what we are really crying about. Now, how did I know some people didn’t really read? Believe me, I got some very few trollers in the past that I could compile into a post, and it is quite obvious that they had probably just read the title and nothing more. My travel category can be trollable sometimes as it incorporates sensitive social and political issues that I had observed in different parts of the world. And are sometimes not for the snowflakes.

If our brave souls here just use the social media to yell at strangers, then it does not really matter to them whether they really know why they are yelling. This is a test of your reading skill. If you are the first person to comment the two films these photos are from, then you will win 5 sbd from me.

The authors should understand the type of comments below to fully accept the reality and see through people.

  • Constructive criticism - this is good because you need a real friend and not someone who will just sugar coat what you write all the time. This type of comment actually makes me think what I have written and it also challenges my beliefs. We should be open to constructive criticism to be able to improve ourselves as authors and see the side of things through other people’s point of view.

  • Against everything you say - this is when whatever you say nothing will ever be good enough. There are just people who regularly take pleasure in being negative and contradicting everything you say. There’s nothing much we can do about them and the good thing is that their existence is just a tiny fraction of this community.

  • Big trollers - they come from time to time and will just troll your post big time. I had one in the past actually and even admitted that he/she trolled my post on his/her post. They also like to throw verbal insults especially if they cannot keep up with critical thinking. Now, this is why I like anonymity because you are not giving people more chance to find something against you, especially knowing how they really are. It can save you a lot of time and disappointment.

  • Generic comments - they are the ones who usually say, great post! Beautiful photos! But I’m not really bothered by these that much. I also write comments like these as sometimes, simple and short would be enough. Especially when the authors I’m following already know that I read their posts and that they should not be bothered if I just write short comment sometimes. I still try my best to post very engaging comments but it would still depend on the type of article I just read.

The 2 and 3 might still give you an upvote which is a good thing. But there are some out there who will just go through all the trouble of commenting to express their dislike. Just no verbal assaults or trolling are necessary though, as it would be better to pause, reflect and reread everything first. This is to prevent having to apologize later if the author proved you to be just another yeller. And also, avoid the clickbait and overly catchy titles, recognize that a significant portion of your intended readers never really makes it past the title and photos.

I usually just give them a clap, a short comment like ‘good for you!’, quote of what I've just written, or just plain not reacting at all. Sometimes, inaction is the best action as some people are just looking for attention, and the best way is to not give them more power over you. Imagine how the world would be if we have just ignored the trolls on the streets looking for worldwide attention.

source.gif

Remember that without these people, our lives here would probably be dull. Their reactions are still much better than having no engagement at all. This is a free world after all.

Img Src 1,2


Before following me, please check my previous posts. I usually write about my travels or whatever my distorted mind has to offer. If you follow me and you're not really interested with that, then you'll only be disappointed! Unfollow @diabolika 😈


Sort:  

Farenhiet 451 and Equillibrium
:)

Wow, congratulations! Too easy I guess. I'll send you 5 SBD now.

I find it interesting also that many of the people who are obsessed with "safe spaces" are also internet trolls. This is mind boggling to me.

Yeah, then one day, they will just come out trolling on the streets, with everything they have learned and nurtured.

The streets troll back.

It really bugs me when people just read the title them comment, especially as so often the title will use irony or sarcasm to make a point. Thought provoking post. It's a shame people can't take a different opinion. I can only really understand the anger when the post is truly outrageous and aggressive, otherwise it's all just opinion.

Do you get those comments sometimes? We can't really avoid those people who can't take freedom of speech. Anyway they are also free to comment, however annoying. I just hope they read everything first.

Not on here, haven't seen that much of it, but I see it all the time on blogs and social media.

Ahh yeah, more on blogs and youtube I guess. Not much of them here or they will be downvoted or not get an upvote lol.

ughhh.... This recently happened to me at work, for writing and publishing a blog about a controversial issue. People not reading the blog but only the title... it was um terrible. Lots of hate mail... made me want to crawl under a rock and hide.

Yeah, unfortunately, there are people like that. It's not you.

I think nr 2 are the most annoying ones.

As they can be seen as Nr 1 still and you try to answer but everything you say is shit.

I did not come across a good troll so far.

PS. I dont know the movies :-(

Do you still get those annoying people who are usually against you post on steemit? Even with sports topic? Or are you talking about in real life?

Ahh ok, Il wait for the others who can guess. Thanks for the randowhale!

no was with the wim hof topic and actually only once or twice but I found it really annoying.

But it is pretty rare here I would say.
Like you said nobody wants to be downvoted.

I can't imagine there are still people out there who would be against wim hof topic.

Anyway, I already have a winner! I'm so happy. 😊

P.S. I don't know if you have watched any of these films, but I like them. Especially, the Fahrenheit 451 book.

I have watched Equillibrium. But it has been a while. I think I liked it.

Did not watch Fahrenheit 451 but might check if I can find it.

Fahrenheit 451 is a dystopian classic film.

Ok, happy Friday!

Great post, really enjoyed! upvoted it :) Ill check the posts and follow!

Don't worry, i'll never stop criticizing :D

then I'll never let it bleed my heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42