'Films For Action' Featured Steemit as Alternative Social Media

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


https://www.filmsforaction.org/watch/social-media-alternatives-steemit-and-dtube-with-dan-dicks/

Films for Action has been a favorite website of mine. I've added it to my Feedly app because I like most of the activist documentaries they feature that raise awareness of important issues not covered by the corporate media. There are a lot of political activism videos and articles on this website and I like most of what I have been reading so far. Honestly, I have become quite skeptical of CNN and BBC these days. I still read The Guardian and independent.co.uk though, I'm just not sure which to trust anymore. What are your thoughts?

I didn't have a Tele for years so I rely mostly on reading news and articles on my Feedly app. I actually read more about international news than the local news these days. Even though I try to stay away from all the negativity, I still don't want to blind myself to the reality of the world.

Steemit and Dtube have been featured in films for action as an alternative social media in this video by James Corbett and Dan Dicks. Actually, I have never heard of these independent journalists so I'm going to watch their documentaries soon particularly the MLK documentary. But I've been reading a lot of negative comments on this youtube video about Dan Dicks. Dan's website's Steemit profile is https://steemit.com/news/@pressfortruth and James' https://steemit.com/@corbettreport.

I will just focus on their review of Steemit. I think James Corbett explained what is Steemit and how it works without being bias. With all the Facebook and Youtube issues right now, I think it is a good thing to suggest an alternative social media for the masses. James explained Steemit as a blockchain-based, decentralized Reddit type site with a monetary function. He said it's like getting money without giving money. While Dan explained how Steemit is a mix between Facebook and Reddit. I just like that he didn't fail to explain all the other issues in this community including the bots and those who are abusing their Steem Power through flag wars and massively upvoting a content. Dan concluded that he is making some money and has overall great experience on Steemit.

I'm not a Youtube star or anything and I have stopped updating my Facebook profile since the day I signed up for Steemit. I only use it for messenger as I have 800 'Facebook friends', less than 10 friends, and 2-3 real friends. And the positive result, I am now more productive as I have more time for writing quality content and meaningful blog instead of that so-called microblogging and spur-of-the-moment posting of 'what's on my mind'. I also don't feel the need to do hundreds of selfies while traveling since I'm no longer active on Facebook. During my recent trip, I was able to enjoy the moment without the need for taking pictures all the time. I have no interest in impressing the Facebook world anymore. I think I feel freer now.

Though I agree that Steemit can be a good alternative social media without censorship, and with monetary incentive as an icing on the cake, it just sucks that people are ruining good things. With all the issues going on around here, I know Steemit is still in its infancy stage and there are a lot of areas for improvement. I still hope that the founders or the developers take some serious action soon about the current power abuse issues. I don't want to be a hypocrite and say that I don't like Steemit, I am still greatly benefitting from it in terms of monetary rewards and writing/journaling. I just want to say that hopefully, all the system abuse issues will be resolved and features will be improved for this platform to stay and become a really good social media alternative.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66