Farewell Followers

in #steemit4 years ago

P_20190828_112606_BF.jpg

Farewell to all my followers who have probably moved on in real life, gotten tired of the blockchain community, or have just gone on inactive mode for an unknown amount of time. Or probably, just found another blogger or Hiver worth their time. I admit that most of my posts don't make sense at all - including this one. I talk and talk as if I am an expert on things. But here's the thing, I will continue doing so!

Sorry for the clickbait guys (This is just for today)! I just did a follower clean up. I am happy to have 2467 followers. But last time I checked on Steemit, it was actually 2479. So I don't know where the rest of the 12 went, but anyway, it doesn't matter. Wait no actually it does, without my followers, I wouldn't be writing on this platform for three years straight. Okay, there are some long gaps in between. You guys could have unfollowed me too. I was inactive for a while when I was busy doing my thing and there were happy people around me, like I was happy and all too. Then, puff the COVID dragon. Quarantine life happened. So here I am again, infecting the world with my broken mind. Awww but thanks for not unfollowing me! I appreciate y'all putting up with me. < sobs loudly > (tears of joy).

I know I don't really have to waste my time doing this whole dead follower clean up. I just got curious about what happened to my followers. Like where are they now? Why are they not posting anymore? Is it because there's no money here? Or they just found life outside the chain. I know how it is when you have such a great life outside, I completely understand. And I know it is none of my business to know the WHY of other people's lives, but still, I went ahead and checked each profile. Yup, each profile.

Last active: 2 years - unfollowed
HP: 0 to 5 - unfollowed

Honestly, the HP doesn't matter but some look like they just powered down and left. I will follow them again if I see their posts or comments on my posts or any signs of life you know.

I think most of them I just followed back. Back in the day when "follow for a follow" was a thing. Then they unfollowed me without me knowing for their own social proof (having too many followers and following a few - ahh like me!) or maybe because I posted a lot of crazy stuff in the past which are now deemed cringe-worthy. Seriously, I need more people to follow now. But it is just not easy to find bloggers that I will like these days.

I have a self-hosted WordPress website for my travel agency business and only just recently, I incorporated a not-too-personal blog. The blog is all things about the island and the people in it. It is hard to be too personal when you know that people in real life can read it too or you have a business reputation at stake. I guess I am just not comfortable putting myself out there. It is just here on Hive/ Steemit that I can totally be myself - so, consider yourself, you guys, lucky. Awww.

It is like starting from scratch, you build a blog that will take years to have some following. And I learned that the WordPress blogging community is a different world. Most people there don't really blog for money, unless they are really, really popular that they can start making money off ads and affiliates. And since most of them are not blogging for money, it is easier for me to find unique bloggers, or niche, or personal blogs to follow. How I wish they can blog on Hive too.

I mean, I love Steemit/Hive, I really do. What I am saying is that we don't need this whole mass adoption or become as mainstream as Twitter or Facebook. Maybe all we need are those bloggers like on Wordpress. But then I get it, when you are doing something you really love, it is hard to taint it with profit. Things become different. Like in art and music, some are just too special for the rest of the world to consume.

So yeah, I might have another blog on my own website that will probably take more years to have some followers, but I am not leaving this platform for as long as you guys are here! Like I said, this is where I get to be myself. I only have one person in real life who gets to read my blog here on Hive, and that's fine.

The only thing about not having people in your real-life read your blog is that all the posts you wrote seem to feel unnoticed in the end. I told my friend who knows I have Hive, that when I reached the end of my life, he will read and share everything. I'm gone, I don't care anymore. He said that if that happens, he will turn this blog into a book, ha! Not that my life is book-worthy, I just love the thought. And I love my friend.

Here I am again, I talk and talk as if I am an expert on things. This is actually just a celebratory post that went too long. When all I want to say is thank you. Thank you my loveliest followers. Thank you to those who made this blog possible. You guys.

Thank you to those who know me best. Awww, y'all. 😊

Because if not here, then where?

PS. I'm rep 67 now, whew it took so long to get here.


previously, previously, previously,

What if Home is Where You Don't Belong

Sort:  

I really have to do a clean up of followers as well. I was away for 2 years and from the 1K followers I have most are inactive. I am grateful for those welcomed me back ofc but there are also so many gone that I followed.

I now follow like every 3rd person I see somewhat good content of cause my feed is quite empty.

I think most of my followers are on Hive now, and some just left.. So I moved there too.

I will just double post on both platforms for now. I somehow get much higher votes on Steemit then on Hive, but a lot of my old friends moved to hive.

I somehow get much higher votes on Steemit then on Hive,

Wow, while I get higher upvotes on Hive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85